We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but 75p a slice???” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berits and Brown - CLOSED

Berits and Brown
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok, but 75p a slice???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went in on a spur of the moment last Saturday with my wife.
We went for the £30 deli platter which was, 2 pates, 2 cheeses, 2 cold meats, olives, toast,
a few spreads and a bottle of wine....
The items were chosen by the chef. Nice enough, very relaxed.
We asked for a few more slices of bread, the waitress asked did we want toast, no a couple of slices of bread would be fine as we still had quite a bit to eat.
She brought over, what I can only describe as 2 wholemeal slices of bread, no better than Asda or Tesco value range and was charged 75p a slice!!!!!
A proper farmhouse loaf or similar would have been much better....

Overall good, would I go back, don't think so......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Macgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee, excellent high quality ingredients, not cheap but worth it for a treat ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a regular at this lovely little Deli, often for their skinny Coffee and a still warm, fresh-made muffin deal in the morning (coffee and a muffin £2.10 + loyalty stamp to get your 7th coffee free) but their sandwiches and soups are gorgeous too. I’ve never been for dinner in the evening but I imagine from everything else I’ve had this would be delicious also.

I know it’s not cheap but they do offer good deals so a trip here doesn’t have to be expensive. I love this place and would recommend it to anyone (and I regularly do too).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“early evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

steak deal on Fridays & Saturday - £30 per couple for ribeye etc with bottle of wine - enjoy the music played

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank climber186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Would have received a better review if the service had been even passable...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

..but it wasn't.

This joint is around the corner from the hairdresser we use when in Glasgow so we've been a few times over the past wee while for drinks, snacks and the full meal experience.

What really strikes you is the service - or lack thereof. No thought to anything, slow, inaccurate and to be honest, I personally don't find it all engaging or that friendly.

The steak and wine for two deal is good value, more than passable quality and if that's all you're after then fine and good.

However, if you want a half decent ambiance, a relaxing atmosphere, good service and also a menu that is even a titch inventive (in a basic bistro sense), give it a body-swerve - as we will be doing in future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Breakfast in the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ate breakfast here on a trip to Glasgow and was disappointed. The food was good although messy, no thought to service. The staff were obviously not happy and not one friendly exchange was made. I was sad as previously had enjoyed a couple of nice lunches there. The place was empty apart from us perhaps reflecting poor service. Will be giving it a miss on future visits. Is a friendly welcome too much to expect?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flemingmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berits and Brown also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing