We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better”
Review of Oko Express

Oko Express
Ranked #706 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Japanese, Fast Food, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“could be better”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have visited this restaurant twice, and think the menu needs some more variety and contrast. The sushi is credible but other choices on the menu lack flavour. I think the food is more favourable to the humble taste buds. The seating was ok and the service was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    67
    36
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Service was good but in our opinion food was horrid”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We went to the queen street restaurant as someone had recommended it as being better than wagas. We ordered cha Han and Katsu cirry and it was edible. Cha Han was greasy and not v nice and Katsu tasted like farm foods packet curry. A real shame but we def wouldn't recommend sorry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lozkixass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just come back from Oko in Sauchiehall from dinner with my godchildren. I have used the other Oko but Sauchiehall wins hands down in presentation, taste and perfect food. Had yakitori chichen and sweetpotato mash with chicken teriyaki. Yum. Well done to the chef and the lovely waitress who served us. We will return
thank you

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad service; okay food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Not my first visit. Previously thought Ok. They were out of few basics inc ice (how many metro supermarkets within 10 minutes walk?). Not an issue but difficulty it caused the waitress to explain sign of things to come. Husbands meal came quite quick. About 5 minutes later I was brought the wrong meal. Used the table button to request waitress who never appeared so caught the attention of someone else. Explained wrong meal. Plate was taken away without comment or apology. Eventually given correct meal. Gave up trying to get misso soup refilled.

Prior to bringing the bill someone came over and apologised. Bill arrived. 10% service charge on it. Didn't ask for it to be removed because someone did eventually apologise. I should have though. Voting with my feet, won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Ever”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

One of my favourite restaurants in Glasgow. Service is great and quick. Food is some of the best japanese I've had and the sushi is definitely the best I've ever had.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oko Express also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Oko Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing