We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place to eat an indian”

Village Curry House
Ranked #777 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A fantastic looking open restaurant with a vibrant lunch and relaxing dinner setting that is ideal for every occassion.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“worst place to eat an indian”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

went there for a meal with other half expecting good quality food as always. ordered food and my curry had a hair in it told the waiter who started inspecting my other half hair to see if we put it in then went and spoke to manager and came back says hopefully rest of your curry fine and we can offer you complimentary tea or coffee as compensation to which i said no i think its out of order as he should have replaced my curry altogather and on top of that manager came on at end to take payment what a cheek! Wont be back ever again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoJo162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    76
    22
    26
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worst customer service ever!!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

it was ma first tym tat i opted this restaurant and it was really a bad experience .I had placed a delivery order via just eat. even after 1hr 45 mins i didn't get the delivery and i phoned twice to know the status of the delivery , the guy on the phone was so rude and at last i had to cancel ma order. i don't understand how thy survive in business wid such staff whn there is so many other good places to try in glasgow. its a shame and i won't b recommending this place to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Senan953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5star Xmas dinner*****”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Went with a large group the table was reserved in advance and ready when we arrived after we all were seated our drink order was taking and pre-startes were brought to the table the order was taking by our waitress very professional in about 10mins we had all the startes on the table lovely and crispy pakoras nothing to complain about after the starter plates cleared we were asked by our waitress if we wanted a break of any longer then 15 mins as we couldn't wait to taste the main dish we asked to bring it on .. In 15 mins we had all our main dishes on the table infront of all was served the way was ordered with refills of our drinks our waitress looked after as very well and really happy with food and service I will always recomend this and will ways go to 5*****

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Xmas Lunch Disaster”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A large group of us went to this restaurant for our xmas lunch, what a huge disappointment it was due to the dreadful service we received. We waited about 30 mins before somebody came to our table to take our order. Another 10 mins before we were approached about what drinks we would like. The starters came after another wait, but only half of our table's food came, after several complaints my colleagues starters came but they were cold and not very appetising. We waited another half an hour before we took the decision to leave due to the time we had been waiting. We asked to speak to the manager but were told he was "hiding" in the back due to the amount of complaints received. Never again will we be back at this dreadful restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne310562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Large group of us went for Xmas lunch. Not enough staff, service dreadful. Some of our party had to leave without eating. The food was not particular good. Chicken pakora was more like chicken dippers. Chilli chicken was very hot but not very tasty. Could not stay for the desert as it all took so long. Disappointed and unlikely to return any time soon

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sadiecool99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Curry House also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Village Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing