We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great authentic curries”

Village Curry House
Ranked #760 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A fantastic looking open restaurant with a vibrant lunch and relaxing dinner setting that is ideal for every occassion.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great authentic curries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Basic surroundings which are not an issue because the food is fabulous. Two starters, lunch-time special curries x 2 with rice, & drinks- £15. Great value.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank diningout4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    72
    22
    26
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not as good as usual as in temporary premises, worth retrying when all sorted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Some time since we have visited, we miss the experience of seeing into the kitchen. We both felt the food to be less good than previous. Although very busy service excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Value 4 Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Excellent authentic curry just south of the city centre. Recommended by locals. Not disappointing

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saylorsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I've been a fan of The Village for (too) many years. The food is always great and reasonable value. I like the homestyle, more realistic food. Some dishes can however be overpoweringly spicy but just ask for milder before they make it.

Kid's are welcome and catered for.

Mostly now I have takeaway as I live miles away where "real" curries are unknown. A visit to the village makes for a good evening.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Wonderfully delicious'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Having been recommended this place by a few of my Asian students I headed straight there. And wow what a treat!! I assume we were in the new premises as it was nothing like what I had previously read about the very dubious sounding decor. The new premises are lovely, with a cafe feel to the place and the food is outstanding. I had a phenomenal Bombay biriyani which was so different from the usual greasy rice clumped dishes I have had in other places. It was packed full of fresh herbs, dried plums, cloves,coriander and a whole load of other incredible flavours-it really was delicious.My partner had the lamb Laal Lahori desi which was also delicious, but the biriyani for me was the star. I also mentioned to the waiter that I loved chickpeas and spinach and he instantly told me they would prepare a nice side dish containing both, which was great too.Even though we were totally stuffed, we couldnt resist buying a small box of delicious Indian sweet treats for back at home, which lasted all of 5 mins! Overall, great food and really helpful staff. We will now add this to our favourites alongside Mother India and other more well known West End Indian restaurants.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laralooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Curry House also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Village Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing