We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not be back”
Review of Chow

Chow
Ranked #1,672 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We will not be back”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Both waiting staff attending to our table appeared uninterested. The place was not busy , 5 upstairs and no more than 5 downstairs. Food was not great, and after our starter we waited a considerable time for our main course..

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennymora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    19
    14
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Reliably good food”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have always liked chow. We enjoyed a nice quarter duck with pancakes, then sweet and sour chicken and szechuan beef. I noticed the beef was not as good quality as in the past. The chicken balls were better and portion was very generous. Diet coke was flat and very small glasses.
Service is good, but I felt the waiter could have been a little friendlier.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire_10_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“was ok! food a bit salty, had better salt n pepper squid and king prawn at other restaurants.”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

went to chow last night with £19 groupon! they said we could not get the mixed starter for 2 but there was nothing on the voucher saying you couldn't get the mixed starter! had garlic prawns and prawn roll that was nice but very salty. for mains we had salt n pepper prawn and squid, once again was nice. i had the Singapore noodles with rice, this was ok as well. stay well clear of the prawn crackers, absolutely tasteless and greasy, worst crackers i have ever tasted! would probably go back but only with another voucher!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank great_white_cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
“cannot recommend chows enough”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

One of the best chinese restaurants in Glasgow, food is EXCELLENT!, i honestly cannot recommend this place enough, the mussels in black bean sauce is 10/10

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyll
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“quality”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

lovely menu, axcellent polite staff, food fantastic

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing