We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good family restaurant”
Review of La Vita

La Vita
Ranked #126 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Centre
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A good family restaurant”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a nice place to eat. I have been many times. The staff are generally attentive and friendly and are willing to alter a dish to suit your needs. The staff seem to always make a fuss over customers birthdays so it seems a good family restaurant. The food I have ordered has always been delicious and the portions are plentiful!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    305
    129
    61
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

took two attempts to bring a simple drinks order to the table.

I ordered the caesar salad, which apparently is just some leaves smothered with salad cream with a few croutons.

Main was the ciabatta BLT with chips, possibly as close to a bacon roll that your average greasy spoon would serve with a handful of oven chips.

waiters were generally helpful, but turned their back and walked off as soon as the finished asking "is everything ok ?"

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhdavectr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here on the 2 courses for £8.95 offer, food was great - I had macaroni and the portion was large, very tasty. The place was very busy and had a good atmosphere. Staff friendly and attentive. Quick service despite it being busy.

Helpful?
Thank T-bone82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Lots of La Vita not so much Dolce”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This place is busy we were glad we booked. The food was interesting, the crostini was like cheese in toast rather than authentic food. The mains were better, our group had pasta, which was heavy, the seafood pasta was good but the mussels were a bit undercooked or were pre packed, very watery.

The "dolce" element was the atmosphere which was busy but service was attentive. The staff were very friendly and the boss Mario, was kind enough to give us a free limoncello - which felt grudged, given we had spent £200 quid for a quick dinner. Overall, nice atmosphere, food needs to be lighter on the sauces more on the protein. Plus Mario everyone should get a limoncello

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superally2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Italian”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Love La Vita. Food & service is always top notch. Nice romantic atmosphere. It has to be our favourite Italian in Glasgow. Our favourite dish (Arrabiata) is the best we have tasted!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vita also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to La Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing