We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely pre theatre meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amarone Glasgow

Amarone Glasgow
Ranked #82 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Nestled in one of Glasgow's main shopping areas on the corner of Buchanan Street and Nelson Mandela Place, and just a two minute walk from Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall, Amarone Glasgow is perfect for a catch up breakfast, a mid-shopping-spree lunch, or an early, pre-symphony dinner. Also those looking for a romantic evening need look further: our venue offers an intimate and atmospheric setting to enjoy fine, Italian dining with that special someone.We all know that eating is a serious matter in Italy and we use the very best ingredients sourced both from specialist Italian suppliers and from our local area. To add to your dining experience, our team of highly specialised and committed staff are on hand to serve you. Our many award wins are testament to our winning formula of great food, perfect venues and dedicated customer service. Glasgow Amarone can boast Glasgow's Best Overall Restaurant of the Year.
Stirling
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely pre theatre meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I came here with my family for a pre theatre meal on my birthday. The waiters were excellent- friendly and informative about the choices. We all ordered from the pre-theatre menu and the food was delicious - I had lamb and it was sooo tasty and tender. My daughter had a couple of cocktails which were lovely as well.Considering it was a meal for 4 adults with drinks, it was very reasonable. It was a very pleasant experience and we will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    322
    85
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is our second visit to this Restaurant, and again didn't disappoint. We arrived without a booking and the very helpful Manager said if we wanted to wait we good have a table when one was available. We sat around the bar area and we only had a ten minute wait and able to put our order in. I can only agreed with the comments from reviewers that food and staff are excellent. My two partners had starters and were very pleased with quality and presentation. On to main meals, again food and presentation excellent. My only niggle would be we only had mushrooms and fried potatoes with two of our our meals. It would have been nice too have a selection of vegetables as did our other diner. Staff attentive but not OTT. Would certainly pay another visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I have now eaten at Amarone three times and every occasion has been fantastic.

The service speedy but courteous, food excellent- best pizza base by far- and total value for money.

100% recommendation

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scrumdown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Arrived at Restaurant without a booking on a Saturday night and were lucky enough to get a table. Glad we did as we loved it!! Very attentive staff and a lovely menu to chose from. We had starters. main one sweet and a liqueur coffee with a bottle of red wine for £62 which we were very happy about given the food was great and very authentic Italian. This was our first visit and wont be our last and we would recommend it if your visiting Glasgow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Couponuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A cracking restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ok I'll admit it I'm biased when it comes to Amarone but the food and the service is superb.

We had another wonderful experience and the staff are super friendly without being over powering.

The 64000 dollar question is would I go back ? and the answer is a massive yes.

Best to pre book as its always a busy place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone Glasgow also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Amarone Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing