We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amarone Glasgow

Amarone Glasgow
Ranked #87 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Nestled in one of Glasgow's main shopping areas on the corner of Buchanan Street and Nelson Mandela Place, and just a two minute walk from Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall, Amarone Glasgow is perfect for a catch up breakfast, a mid-shopping-spree lunch, or an early, pre-symphony dinner. Also those looking for a romantic evening need look further: our venue offers an intimate and atmospheric setting to enjoy fine, Italian dining with that special someone.We all know that eating is a serious matter in Italy and we use the very best ingredients sourced both from specialist Italian suppliers and from our local area. To add to your dining experience, our team of highly specialised and committed staff are on hand to serve you. Our many award wins are testament to our winning formula of great food, perfect venues and dedicated customer service. Glasgow Amarone can boast Glasgow's Best Overall Restaurant of the Year.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

A warm welcome, good value early bird set menu, service friendly and relaxed, tasty food - would highly recommend Amarone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grainne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    324
    86
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went to Amarone with a friend been many times always enjoyed it. We were on the 5pm two courses £19.95 off the Al Carte menu. We both had the Scallops they were fantastic and we both had the rack of lamb superb and there was no supplements. Well worth a visit service is always good will definetly be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hathor06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch just a short walk from the station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We'd had a great food experience here before with a crowd for my friend's birthday so decided to try lunch. Service is lively, scallops were divine and the asparagus and spinach risotto was fab. I'm normally a meat eater, but this sounded so good we both had it - and were not disappointed. The salad of leaves had those nasty little orange baby tomatoes in it when I only wanted leaves, but aside from that. Terrific. Prosecco was a cut above too. MMMmmmmmm. Be back soon. .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliAK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the reviews for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We were given a 5pm voucher for Christmas - £15 each for a 3 course meal ( from the 5pm special menu). The restaurant looks nice enough, modern decor, nicely lit, clean and I can't fault the service we received from walking in the door to leaving. What let it down for us was that the food was a little disappointing and that, for us, the ambience was really bad. We were sat at a table right in front one of the doors to the kitchen and next to a service point for the waiters. The place was full so obviously the kitchen door was going constantly and when the waiters weren't dealing with customers they would congregate next to us which was off putting. The noise acoustics were also bad, the main seating area consists of rows of tables for two so it felt like we were eating in a loud canteen not out for a quiet meal. I think the restaurant should perhaps put customer experience over profit and not have the two tables directly in front of the kitchen doors and perhaps a few decorative screens to try to improve the acoustics.
The deal we got was incredibly good value but the food was a bit hit or miss, the desserts were the best bit. We had Caesar salad and a mussels dish to start which were fine, I had meatballs for main again this was fine, my partner had the sea bream and was really disappointed with it, he thought it lacked flavour and that the potatoes had been reheated in a microwave as they were warm on the outside and roasting hot in the centre (and i don't mean a food naturally cooling down sort of way!) For dessert we had tiramisu and semi freddo. In general the food was fine but nothing special.
I'd say this restaurant would be good to visit for a meal for a large group but not for couples looking for a quiet meal.

Helpful?
Thank LozHammersbaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well done Amarone - you never disappoint.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love this restaurant. The staff and service are fantastic! They are friendly and very helpful. Food is delicious. It can be a little noisy on occasion, but the environment is great for a leisurely meal as a couple, with friends or family. One of my favourite places to go - never disappoints!
Well done to the team at Amarone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firewalker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone Glasgow also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Amarone Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing