We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my fav restaurants”
Review of Khublai Khans

Khublai Khans
Ranked #182 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: City Centre
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“One of my fav restaurants”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited here quite a number of times now. One of my fav restaurants.

Food amazing love how you can mix and match different types of meat and ingredients to make your own dish.

Staff are super friendly aswell.

Don't be put off with the different meats, they all taste so yummy !!

Helpful?
Thank maxine3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
HI Maxine,
Thanks very much for the review. Glad you continue to enjoy the experience. Your comments are most appreciative.
Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
kind regards,
James Reid
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    160
    83
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
biggar scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a fantastic place, this is such a different experience if you haven't been you MUST GO

when we first arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the décor, the staff were welcoming and very friendly, as we have not been before the young lady took time to explain how the restaurant works, it was, to say the least entertaining trying all the different meats, recipes are on a board for your guidance if not confident. food was cooked on the grill and it was very enjoyable.

GREAT NIGHT / EXPERIANCE WILL GO BACK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ishka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Duty Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to review the restaurant - we value all guest feedback.
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your night with us, and that our selection of exotic meats was not lost on you.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Matthew Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ive been to khublai khan a few times and its something different. Its good to try a range of meats that knowhere else does. Things like zebra, wild boar, crocodile, ostrich, etc, but they also do chicken and beef. Its the type of restaurant that offers a buffet style meal, where you go up 4 or 5 times and try as many different meats as you can.. so remember not to overload your dish too full! So first you choose rice or noodles, then you choose a meat, then you add your own choice of herbs, spices and sauces or pick a pre-made one which is on a board that you can follow step-by-step. And you can even stand and watch your meal being cooked.

The venue has a great atmosphere. The meats in the starters are brilliant and very tender, but i think the meats cooked on the griddle could be cooked alot better, because i found the majority of meats slightly chewy or tough. If you find this, a safe bet is to stick to the chicken, like i do!

Its worth coming here for the experience and i recommend it. The only negative thing about this restaurant is 'the bill' which has a service charge (tip) already added to it. I think it should be optional to tip, but most people do anyway!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Duty Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for reviewing the restaurant - your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us, and thank you for the in depth run down of the restaurant for those who haven't been before.
You mentioned the Service Charge. Although this is added to the bill, it is a completely discretionary charge, so there is no requirement to pay it - also it all goes to the staff.
Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun night out but food is what you make it to be”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently visited here with some friends for a mid week night out. We had received a discount offer through facebook and thought it'd be a fun night out.
Upon entering the restaurant, we were quickly offered drinks at the bar and shown to our table. it was quiet being mid week but the staff seemed friendly and attentive. We were given menus and a brief run through of how it all works. We all looked at the menu then another member of staff appeared and again gave us a run through of everything. the deal we were on was basically the Pre theatre at a reduced rate. 3 courses inc 1 trip to the BBQ. which we were advised on more than 1 occassion we could upgrade for £5 per dish.
We ordered our starters and the waiter was very helpful to a friend who wasn't sure about what to eat as the menu offers meats such as wild boar & zebra.
The starters were very tasty and the unusual dishes were passed between us so we could give them a try.
We were invited to go into the BBQ room to start making our main courses. with 6 of us the tables got very crowded. I imagine on a saturday night it'd be almost impossible to prepare anything. The small metal dish we were given was ridiculously small and by teh time we loaded it with noodles or rice, we weren't sure we'd have room for anything else. Next is the vegetables then the meat table. There are safe options (Beef, Chicken) and also the brave options. however, the sight of baby octuposes almost made me lost my starter! After we loaded what looked like a mountain of food into this tiny dish. We had to start adding the flavour. This is the exact moment your meal can go from great, to a complete disaster. Trying to add the exact amount of herbs & spices whilst 5 other people do the same can lead to mistakes. It would have been nice to have a staff member on hand (or some pre made flavours available) to ensure that everyone ended up with an enjoyable meal. The food is then given to the chef to cook while we returned to our seat. When the food was returned to us cooked, it had reduced in size so make sure you over load the bowl with the raw ingredients.
Some friends didn't enjoy their meal as the flavour was wrong but we all grinned & beared it and moved onto dessert which were lovely.
Thanks to the offer, the meal wasn't expensive at all and we did have fun. however, i don't think i'd return with anyone other than friends as my parents or grandparents would feel completely out of their comfort zone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Duty Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant - we value all feedback from our guests.
I'm glad you enjoyed the service when you visited us and that you enjoyed the starters and desserts.
In terms of the BBQ you are right, the bowls are sized accordingly as it is usually a buffet - an upgrade option that is also available on the Facebook offer. But you can fill them high if you are on a limited menu. If you're finding the herbs and spices a little difficult, there are some example recipes on the board at the back to help you, alternatively the chef is always on hand to give any guidance that is needed.
Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Kind regards,
Matthew Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brill night”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to this place for my friends birthday & we had a fab night. Food was great with a good selection on offer. Starters & desserts were excellent with the kangaroo for main being my fave meat. All in all a very good night with good atmosphere & great service. Def be back

Helpful?
Thank technojunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi There,
Thanks for your comments with regards to your night out with us. We really value your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had such a great time dining with us and we hope to be welcoming you back again soon.
Thanks again,
Kind regards,
Andrew
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing