We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Outrageously Outstanding”
Review of Khublai Khans

Khublai Khans
Ranked #224 of 2,473 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What an outstanding experience....... getting to choose your own dishes the exact things you would like with it and the choice of meats you get wonderful ( zebra, boar, springbok etc) and the big factor is that you get to watch it all being cooked in front of you wicked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Allana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi Allana,
Thank you for letting us know about your dining experience. We really value your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed the concept and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
kindest regards,
James Reid
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Khublai Khans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 523 of 629 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

I don't ever write negative reviews for trip advisor ,but occasionally something is so awful that it seems imperative to warn people not to waste their money . I was seduced into eating here by the prospect of eating authentic mongolian food prepared in an unusual way. In fact what is on offer is a DIY stir fry using cheap ingredients which even your average Tesco could better . Even if you have any pretensions to cooking ability it is difficult to do anything here which will result in something you could actually want to eat. The 'exotic' meats like Zebra, Alligator and Okapi distract attention from the fundamentally poor quality of the ingredients . All this would be 'a good laugh' if it were not for the price . The mongolian feast comes in at £22.95 a head . This includes a mediocre starter which in my case was pastry pancakes filled with something with the consistency of rubber ( supposedly wild boar ) . There is a also an unimpressive desert . My wife's ginger and orange pudding lacked flavour and texture ,my Creme brulee was adequate but minute .
On the positive side the staff were friendly and helpful and the wine ( a Chilean cabernet sauvignon ) was good value at £15 .
In conclusion if you want an all you can eat stir fry and don't care about quality then you will probably be happy . The place was full so presumably their customers are satisfied with what they get . I was deeply dissatisfied and annoyed at having shelled out £72 on something I could have cooked much better at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank broombank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Broombank,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion of our restaurant, we value all feed back - even if it is negative.
I'm obviously very sorry that you and your wife didn't enjoy your meal, I admit that out unique concept is not to everybody's taste.
However, in our defence, it is fairly obvious that many of the ingredients on offer at our barbecue buffet are not available on the High Street, unless Tesco has very recently added the likes of Kangaroo, Zebra, Pheasant, and Wild Boar to their meat section? Incidentally, we do not offer, and have never offered either Alligator or Okapi, not sure where you got those from.
I can also assure you that all our starters and desserts are made on the premises and that fact allied to the extensive range of meats, seafood and fresh vegetables available in unlimited amounts at the barbecue buffet, we believe, ensures that our menu offers excellent value for money.
On a more positive note I am delighted that you enjoyed your wine and found the staff helpful and friendly.
Finally, thanks again for your feed back.
Kind regards
Andrew McRobbie
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was a nice laid-back restaurant. We got to pick our veg, meats/seafood and spices before watching it being cooked. Prices for the pre-theatre menu were reasonable (£14). My only regret is that because you make your own recipe (which is fun, it is true), I did not get the impression I tried traditional Mongolian food. All in all, a very nice evening!

Thank e0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We all really enjoyed the whole experience. The selection of interesting meat lived up to our high expectations and the create-your-own style was fun. The unlimited trips to the buffet proved to be great value for money!

We set out to eat every meat using all the 12 menu suggestions (well, you've got to get your moneys worth!) but most gave up around dish 5/6!

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the service was quick. The food was well cooked. Our only gripe is that our cutlery wasn't renewed after each sitting... but we got over this very quickly.

Overall a great night, highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to tell us all about your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed it & that the staff were welcoming and friendly. We very much look forward to welcoming you again so you can try the six remaining suggestions.
kindest regards,
James Reid
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great experience to choose your own dishes, watch them get cooked (and shrunk) in front of you. More of a life experience than an eating experience, but worth perhaps an annual visit with those who haven't experienced the mix and match of boar, kangaroo, alligator etc. interesting.

Thank CraigT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Duty Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on the restaurant, all the feedback from guests is greatly appreciated.
I'm glad you enjoyed your meal with us, and the that the whole experience was something new for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing