We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun eating strange meat!”
Review of Khublai Khans

Khublai Khans
Ranked #224 of 2,473 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We all really enjoyed the whole experience. The selection of interesting meat lived up to our high expectations and the create-your-own style was fun. The unlimited trips to the buffet proved to be great value for money!

We set out to eat every meat using all the 12 menu suggestions (well, you've got to get your moneys worth!) but most gave up around dish 5/6!

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the service was quick. The food was well cooked. Our only gripe is that our cutlery wasn't renewed after each sitting... but we got over this very quickly.

Overall a great night, highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to tell us all about your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed it & that the staff were welcoming and friendly. We very much look forward to welcoming you again so you can try the six remaining suggestions.
kindest regards,
James Reid
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Khublai Khans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 526 of 629 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great experience to choose your own dishes, watch them get cooked (and shrunk) in front of you. More of a life experience than an eating experience, but worth perhaps an annual visit with those who haven't experienced the mix and match of boar, kangaroo, alligator etc. interesting.

Thank CraigT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Duty Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on the restaurant, all the feedback from guests is greatly appreciated.
I'm glad you enjoyed your meal with us, and the that the whole experience was something new for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This restaurant we visited with my partner. Our friends recommended to us. So we wanted to try something different, and it was. Restaurant nice & clean, staff polite, attentive. I had mushroom soup, and was amazing, never had better mushroom soup. Marsbar Cheesecake was excellent too. The main course was good, i choose zebra was different but nice. Will be back to try the rest. Overall good restaurant, something different.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enjoyable expericence and worth a visit.

We both had wild boar for starters which we both enjoyed. We enjoyed the whole experience of selecting the fresh ingredients and having cooked infront of you.

The service was excellent when we visited, the waitress was very friendly and also was able to give us some tips regarding the sauces.

Would recommend - wish there was an option for 'good' ...feel that our experience was better than average but not worthy of very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laura7097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to write a short review about your experience with us. I'm pleased that the experience was a positive one, that the service was excellent & that you enjoyed the overall concept.
Thanks once again & we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
kind regards,
James Reid
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Dined on the pre theatre menu which is excellent value for money. Food was good, atmosphere great however service was somewhat slow.

Defo worth a visit, even if its just for the exotic meat novelty factor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kennymcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Hi There,
Thanks for your comments regarding your dining experience. We value all feedback. I'm delighted that you found it to be good value for money & the food was good. I have taken on board you comments with regards the service & appreciate you pointing this out.
Thanks again & we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
kind regards,
James Reid
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing