We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Mother India's Cafe
Ranked #46 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great ambience, fantastic, tasty food! My first choice whenever I go for a curry in Glasgow. Be prepared to queue though!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    232
    41
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My fiancé and I had our first visit to the restaurant on Friday night. We went on the back of a recommendation from family. When we arrived at about 7:30pm (peak time) there was a queue right out the door and we thought this was a good sign! We waited about 15-20 minutes for our table and it was well worth the wait!! We ordered a bottle of sparkling wine, a few minutes later the manager (I assume) came over and advised that it wasn't cold enough so he was upgrading us to a bottle of champagne for the same price as the sparkling wine (champagne was almost double the price) We thought this was amazing and what you call top class service! The other waiting staff were very pleasant and attentive. The food was delicious and fantastic value for money - our bill was only £41 and that was for 4 tapas dishes, 1 rice, 1 naan and the sparkling wine. Once we had finished our meal we still had some champagne to finish, I felt bad because there was people waiting to be seated. It's a shame they don't have a small bar area where you can finish your drinks - I asked the waitress about this and she very politely said for me not to worry and to take our time, which was nice of her. We will most definitely be returning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanaLockens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

What else is there to say. The food is perfect. The surrounds are perfect for the food and the service is quick and wonderful. Perfect

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinnie-Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fab taste of India!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a few minutes wait for a table for two on a Monday evening but well worth the wait. Great food, loved the tapas style meal, great atmosphere with sitar player strumming away with a selection of eastern and modern western tunes. Great service too. Will definitely revisit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brendabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We eat here as often as we can. My family is Indian and we appreciate authentic, well prepared Indian food. The channa daal is to die for. Pooris are light and well filled. And the chicken tikka- juicy, well spiced and nicely presented. My only reservation is that you cannot make a reservation! Sometimes the queue is right down the road, so we tend to try to arrive at off peak times. The staff are friendly and always remember us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentdiner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother India's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mother India's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing