We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waiter”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dhabba

The Dhabba
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dhabba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: An authentic North Indian cusine experience in the heart of Glasgow. From Punjab to the Merchant City, we've brought the best of North Indian cooking to Glasgow City Centre. We're talking about authentic recipes using fresh natural ingredients from award-winning chefs. Food worth talking about, and a warm dining experience to savour. Proudly featured within the Michelin Guide and highly recommended by food critics, you'd be sure not to miss out on making booking with us.
Level Contributor
294 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Rude waiter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this place before and it was good but this time the service was terrible. I asked the waiter to see if they did "chilli chicken dry" I was totally in a very patronising way that that was a Chinese dish. Whilst I am aware that the dish is a Chinese dish it is served all over India, Hindu style. I have been to India 5 days last year and it certainly is a dish that is served in restaurants there. Arrogant and patronising little man that has never been out if Glasgow. Never go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captivatedoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    147
    64
    46
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good service, pleasant setting, average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had lunch at the Dhabba in January 2013. Thought we would try it as we have enjoyed dining at its sister restaurant the Dakhin. The setting is spacious and pleasant, the service friendly and efficient. Unfortunately, the quality of the food was somewhat disappointing - all rather lacking in flavour.

OK, but not worth recommendation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellonway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“turned away at the door”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My daughter booked a table at this restaurant as it came highly recommended. She booked a table for two for 2.00pm through their website. We arrived at 2.05pm and were met at the door by a waiter telling us the restaurant was closed. .On telling him we had a table booked a table for 2 he said we were late and the chef had gone home. We asked why they were taking bookings for 2.00pm when the chef left at 2. We couldn't quite understand what kind of meal we would have been served with had we arrived dead on 2.00pm!! He did no make any comment! We left and went to Citation where the customer service and food were excellent. Can't comment on the food only the awful customer service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerri080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I visited the Dhabba on the 26th Jan (his birthday) we had booked a table for 6.30pm

This was our first time visiting the restaurant, we had a look at the menu which had a great choice and ordered a starter between us and 2 main courses.

The starter was fantastic but after over an hour wait for our main meal we had to say something. The waiter said to us "it's not usually like this everyone must be attending the same concert or something" we did not find this acceptable and left the restaurant (first time we have ever done that and we eat out every weekend) they were accepting people in that did not have bookings obviously knowing that the kitchen could not cope.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
180 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fabulous Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had another visit to The Dhabba on Saturday night. And yet another great meal. It did take longer than usual to be served, but the place was busy busy! Those flavours are definately well worth waiting for. I even managed some tablet ice ceam and that was equally tasty. By far my favourite Indian Restaurant!! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dhabba also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Dhabba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing