We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still going strong”
Review of Shenaz

Shenaz
Ranked #310 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Anderston
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Small but comfortable. Food is excellent. Been on several occassions with friends never been dissapointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    42
    8
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious revisit after many years.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had been a regular at the Shenaz up until several years ago when I moved. Booked with 5 friends. Fingers were crossed that it was as good as I remembered. Didn't need to! It was much, much better. The fabulous starters-3 shared with six were light and tasty. The chicken tikka pardesi was the best I have eaten. My friends all had something different, and each were highly complimentary about the food, the service and the presentation. Nice decor adding to the experience.
Finished off a great night.
thank you.
Wil return NEXT week

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a really nice meal in Shanaz, food and staff are great, a wee bit out of the road but very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjoncamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“All you need is Shenaz”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The restaurant opens at 4pm where diners can treat themselves to the pre-Theatre meal up to 6.30pm every day except Saturday. If dining a la carte then a complimentary tray of spiced onions, tomatoes, pineapples and coconut is provided as a pre meal appetiser. Favourites include chicken patia and the special lamb which can both be found on the pre-theatre. Never been disappointed on any visit to the Shenaz.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A legend - and deservedly so”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've been a Shenaz customer for more years than I can recall. I reckon it holds the title of Glasgow's oldest Indian restaurant, going back to the 1960's.

So, what's special?

Certainly, there are familiar items on the menu, cooked to a higher standard than you'll find elsewhere. But there are lots of 'Shenaz originals' that make a change from the same old, same old. The vegetable pakora is like none other. The name is probably a misnomer. Don't expect the usual potato and onion combo: this is like a light onion bhaji in a beautifully-seasoned batter. The other standout Shenaz classics are the lamb and chicken bismal dishes- the meat is slow cooked in a delicious, light sauce - and green peppers stuffed with rice and spiced keema.

Even basics like spiced onions have just the right touch: nothing decanted from a jar here.

Just one criticism, which is probably just a reflection of my taste buds. The peshwari nan was far, far too sweet: a bad case of coconut overdose.

Glasgow loves the Shenaz. Long may it thrive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fothergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenaz also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Shenaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing