We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely House, made to feel very welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forfar, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely House, made to feel very welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

We have just returned from a night stay at Claremont House in Glasgow. We booked the room last minute as we were going to see Pink at Hampden. It is close enough to the city centre, and a taxi will cost no more than £5.
On arrival we were greeted by the owner, and made to feel very welcome. The house itself is a beautiful old building and has been well looked after. Our room was a really good size, lovely decor and with a very very comfy bed!
The owner was also very helpful in telling us how to get around, since we didn't know Glasgow very well, helping with taxis and local info.
We desperately needed our bed by the time we got home, and since the house is in a quiet cul-de-sac, we were not disturbed by any of the usual Glasgow saturday night noises.

Overall, We have really enjoyed our stay at the Claremont House B&B. It was friendly, relaxed and such a beautiful property. It would be perfect for a quiet getaway, or even if you were heading into the town for a night out, you could walk back (just take flat shoes!) or a taxi would be really cheap.

Would definately recommend to all :)

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmwilson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
45
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baleshare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

And again a lovely stay at Claremont House.
Thanks to Tom and Angus who succeeded in creating a b&b with a very special atmosphere. Private parking available and the city centre at 5 minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaleshareJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

My girlfriend and I were invited to a wedding in Glasgow and with 3 weeks to go, we had still not booked our accommodation and were in hope of finding a bargain.
Thankfully we found Claremont house.
It was right in our rather limited price range and after very little deliberation we decided to go for it.
Angus (the owner) helped us find our way there with very little trouble and while it could be said that it's off the beaten track, it is not difficult to find and the peace and quiet afforded to the house due to its sheltered location was very welcomed by us.
The breakfasts were satisfying and tasty, and set us up well for the days ahead of us.
It is true that the TV's in the room are small portables, but I have to ask, who goes for a break to watch TV?
There is a bus stop at the end of the road and a Taxi from the centre of town was no more than £5. We found no problems with walking a large part of the time as there were some lovely old buildings and the towering cathedral and Necropolis on the way into the city.
Brilliant find- spotless spacious rooms, friendly welcome... highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenpaulbrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

I have mxed feelings about Claremont House B&B. My mom and I stayed here for 3 nights the beginning of June 2008. The house itself is beautiful. Old stone home with amazingly high ceilings. It has been beautifully restored. A very large room with the biggest bathroom imaginable and a great shower. The location is definitely off the beaten track being in the east end of Glasgow, but easily accessed via bus which is a short walk from the house. Not a bustling side of town if you want to come home after sight seeing and then just go somewhere local for dinner. If that's your plan, then stay central or west. The area is definitely in transition as people are forced to locate here not being able to afford the astronimical prices in the west end. Would like to revisit the area in 5 years - problably completely changed. The smallest TV imaginable and there is no satellite, so only a few stations with very poor reception via bunny ears. You must pre-order your breakfast the night before, which I didn't really like and this was the only B&B where we had to do this. Angus, the owner, is very efficient. Would I stay here again? Hmmm... no, I would probably stay in the west end.

  • Liked — Nice bathroom
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBugMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raggy58, owner at Claremont House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2008
It was very interesting reading the reviews about Claremont House and guests perceptions about its potential. I would just like to say that most guests actually comment on how peaceful the location is as we are located in a cul-de-sac with no through traffic, yet only a mile from Glasgow city centre. The area is an established leafy conservation area with similar Victorian detached and semi-detached houses and is well served by public transport both bus and trains into the city and beyond. We are not the West end but the area does have two main shopping streets with a varied selection of cafes/bars/general stores/supermarkets all within 5 minutes walk.
We also offer a guest lounge available throughout the day with a huge tv with satellite , videos/dvds and cds as an alternative to the portable tvs in the guest bedrooms. Also offered free of charge is access to the internet on the guest computer as well as wirefree computer access.
We like to offer as wide a selection as possible for breakfasts other than a "standard breakfast" with no other choices. It's for this reason we encourage guests to complete our menus for the following day so that the breakfast they have asked for is made available and at the time they request.
We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome to our home and to feel as comfortable as possible . We always appreciate any comments/feedback from guests on how to further enhance their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed at the Claremont Hotel when we went to see Celtic v Benfica. It is a stunning period property, a real surprise to walk into. The room was spot on with a lovely en-suite.
The guy that owns it is a really friendly guy and a font of all local knowledge! He saved us from getting lost both going to Parkhead and walking to Glasgow centre the next the day.

Lovely traditional scottish brekkie with those delicious scottish potatoe cakes!!!

Low cost, Fantastic value for the money and lives up to the nice pictures on its website.

We will be going back again next time we see celtic play :-)

This guesthouse is peaceful for families and romantic for couples!!!

  • Liked — everything - free parking too
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jools1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Because of a change to our flights with Ryan Air (their fault, not our's) and me forgetting to notify the owner of the guesthouse that we would be arriving earlier than expected, we promptly made our way to the accommodation, only to wait 2 hours on the doorstep! When the owner arrived, he was so apologetic, although it was not his fault at all. This is a lovely place to stay. Angus (owner) is so helpful and friendly and the house is just lovely - nicely decorated, warm and inviting. Plus a really good breakfast. Also, only a few minutes from the bus stop where you can get straight into the centre of town. You could also walk to town and we did that a couple of times. It really is a home away from home and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Liked — Interior design - so warm and stylish
  • Disliked — Had a few problems with the computer, but having the internet for me is a bonus, not a necessity, so no big deal
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ciao2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 38 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 38 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 38 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Claremont House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Broompark Circus, Glasgow G31 2JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Claremont House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Claremont House Bed & Breakfast Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing