We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

First impression, terrible the hotel is on top of a car park! Had to go in what seemed like a back door to try and find reception. Not to mention the fact that we had to pay £60 for a twin room I have stayed in 5* hotels in London for less! Well after no instructions on finding the room we got in the room and were in shock! The sink was in the room with the shower! The toilet was in what I can only describe as broom cupboard! No wardrobe, the beds were not beds I have had better nights sleep on gravel, there was what I could only call a table with the thinnest piece or foam as a "mattress"! No wardrobe so no extra pillows! Only two pillows about the only thing this place has going for it is free wifi must be where all the. Ones goes because it's not on good staff or good room! Really don't stay here!

Room Tip: Don't go here spend and extra £10-20 and stay somewhere in the city centre or with real beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90sam90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. Our rooms are very basic so we can keep the costs low and pass on fantastic rates for our guests. Now you know what to expect, we hope that you might decide to stay with us again should the need arise.

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    500
    437
    203
    221
See reviews for
278
569
128
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lots of wor going on next door , stayed oct 23 in room 868 , first all the disabled bays taken by workmen n the hotel staff don't care , 2 nd the man behind the reception was to busy speaking polish I think to help check us in , didnt explain the lifts etc , the room very very basic , one pillow in room had to ask for more but with no telephone another walk n struggle with lift back down to non English speaking reception we to another 1 pillow bed very low , no tea or coffee facilities , the whole entrance area is awful , there were girls screaming most of the night , it's really was awful , room wasn't very clean n bed wasn't very comfortable never stay here again .

Room Tip: Travelodge is just behind stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Front Office Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are sorry for your bad experience and I understand that you have contacted Assistent Manager and he will answer to your complain soon as possible.


Robert Ionescu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The entrance is a bit of a confusing welcome as you have to get the lift from the bleak basement to the reception on floor five. Once I got in, I couldn't fault the room at all. It was clean, had a comfy bed, free wifi and all you need for a night away. I slept like a baby, I didn't get woken once and I'm not much of a heavy sleeper...however, I was staying on a Sunday night, maybe a quiter night than other nights? It's not too far from the city centre and standing on the quay it's an easy hotel to find

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingIeServingFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed three nights. Room was minimal but o.k. as we didn't use it except to sleep. It was clean, towels changed everyday. Value for money, although a bit dislocated from the center. If the location of the entrance was more appropriate (outback corner of a huge parking lot, doors hidden behind, like a backdoor entrance to an apartment building and often strange and drunk people gathering in front) it would be much more acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zana37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards

Assistant General Manager
Jakub Makuchowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I'm so annoyed that I paid over £60 to spend a night in this awful place. I'm aware it's a budget hotel but the least I expected was a proper mattress. Instead we got a wedge of cheap foam. We got a terrible a nights sleep. The information in the room says towels, extra pillows, shower gel etc are available at reception. The reception staff were polite and reasonably friendly but when asked for these things they looked at me like I was speaking a foreign language. I got them eventually after having to explain exactly why I needed one more towel. I didn't even attempt trying to get a pillow. Don't stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. Our rooms are very basic so we can keep the costs low and pass on fantastic rates for our guests. I'm glad that you found our staff friendly and, now you know what to expect, we hope that you might decide to stay with us again should the need arise.

Kind regards

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed there for one night due to a football match. Lot of fans in the hotel, no major noise, although we did ask for quiter rooms. The rooms were clean, tidy, basic - all you can expect from a budget hotel. Free parking and wifi - wonderful! A nice 10-15 min walk along the river to city centre. Although it seems as a bit of a strange neighbourghood on the photos, actually is ok. The complex where the hotel is situated is lively, with bars, fast food, cinema and bowling, so quite cheerful and safe. Payed 45 GBP (with breakfast), and that is a border line price to pay for this type of accomodation.
The only minus was the breakfast - horrible choice of pastry and jams etc. Regular Ibis budget is way better.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for quiter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diddyRijeka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Glasgow, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Assistant General Manager
Jakub Makuchowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Glasgow

Property: Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Address: 2A Springfield Quay, Glasgow G5 8NP, Scotland (Formerly Etap Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Budget Hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms at budget prices. We pride ourselves on the excellent value for money, Situated in the Springfield Quay, one of the Glasgow's largest entertainment centres. All rooms have flat screen TV's with over 130 free view channels. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Free indoor and outdoor car parking.The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and amenities including 12 screen Odeon Cinema, ten -pin bowling venue, Mecca bingo, and Scotland's largest Casino, Alea. The hotel is within walking distance of Glasgow city centre, 5 minute's drive to Scottish Exhibition and Conference centre (SECC) , 5 minutes' drive to the Glasgow Central rail station, 5 minutes in a taxi from the O2 Academy and 15 minutes' drive to the Glasgow International Airport.We are proud to offer:Friendly helpful staff available 24/7165 en-suite bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat screen televisionContinental Buffet Breakfast at £4.95 per person 24/7 "Fraiche" offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks.Very competitive pricesComfortable and modern roomsFree Wi-Fi availableFree car park Discounts for Ibis Budget hotel residents at restaurants located in Springfield quay (Ashoka at the Quay , Panda's, Chiquito and Alea)Guest are required to bring a form of personal identification when paying by cash. Acceptable forms of ID:· Valid photographic driving licence· Valid Passport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Glasgow
Hotel Ibis Budget Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing