We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable overall”

Di Maggio's - Westend
Ranked #633 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $51
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Di Maggio’s West End is our oldest restaurant, established in 1985 as an Italian-American Pizzeria, and is run by one of our longest serving managers, John McGregor. Set at the end of Ruthven lane just off Byres Road, Di Maggio’s serves quality Italian cuisine to the students, lecturers and families of Glasgow’s trendy West End. Private dining facilities are also available at Di Maggio’s West End, with a private room which can accommodate up to 40 guests, perfect for a family gathering, office party or corporate event. We are happy to provide package prices on request.
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very enjoyable overall”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We visited Di Maggios on a really busy evening but the staff were very helpful and although we had not booked a table they managed to accommodate us. Service was good as expected. The food was lovely , very tasty and hot.. We liked the atmosphere which was lively but not too noisy.
We certainly will return again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - Westend, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Many thanks for your great review of our West End Restaurant. It's really lovely to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Di Maggio's in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    72
    35
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible Food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Food full of salt. Manager had very bad attitude when we complained. Rude staff. Very poor standard. I wont go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishmounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - Westend, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We can only apologise for what you experienced and reassure you that your comment has been brought to the attention of Head Office and appropriate action has been taken. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“would eat here again”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a lovely family meal here in November. The staff were attentive and we were not rushed although the restaurant was very busy on a Saturday early evening. Have not been to a Di Maggios before so cannot compare with others but would definitely come back to this one. Food and decor both lovely. Very cosy on a cold November night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEANETTE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - Westend, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Jeanette, thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed dining with us in Di Maggio's and we do hope that we can tempt you back to any of our Di Maggio's restaurants in the future. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I regularly visit East Kilbride Di Maggios. Think I will stick with East Kilbride in the future - wasn't impressed with the West End and here's why:

- Waitress was "cold"/unfriendly
- Penne Salmone was too salty (I generally add too much salt so for me to find it too salty means it was definitely far too salty)
- £20 bottle of Prosecco wasn't chilled
- Coeliac daughter had very sore stomach afterwards so we suspect she was glutened - impossible to prove though

Perhaps I'm being unfairly biased (since I love East Kilbride Di Maggios) but it was a family day out and a big disappointment. We didn't make a fuss because we feel that would have detracted even more from our day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - Westend, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review of your experience at our West End Di Maggio's restaurant, Karen. Whilst it is great to hear that you enjoy visiting our East Kilbride yesterday, we are sorry to hear that you felt your experience at our sister restaurant in the West End was not as you expected. We strive to ensure that there is consistency across all Di Maggio's restaurant however appreciate that on this occasion it was not the case. Please be assured that your comments have been passed onto our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place and meal”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Staff were attentive and friendly. Meal was lovely and well spaced out. We were asked if we wanted time after our main courses which we liked. I had booked the table and it was ready and set beautifully. Thought it might be difficult to find but it wasn't. Wasn't as busy as the city centre restaurant so had a much more relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank killieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - Westend, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. It's great to hear that you tried one of our other Di Maggio's restaurant in the group and we hope we can tempt you back again to any of our 7 Di Maggio's restaurant in and around Glasgow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Maggio's - Westend also viewed

 

Been to Di Maggio's - Westend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing