We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical and a very special meal.”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #29 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Anderston
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A magical and a very special meal.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My partner and I came to this restaurant on our first night in Glasgow. I found that the staff were extremely courteous. The meal, I have to say, was perhaps the best Italian meal I've ever had (and believe me, I eat a lot of Italian food!). Everything was cooked to perfection. Although, yes the prices seem a little on the high side, but in my opinion, it's worth every penny. We had a three course meal, a bottle of wine, garlic bread with cheese as a side and amazing Italian coffee afterwards. To top of the amazing night, my partner proposed to me at the end of the evening, which was not only an amazing surprise (which by the way, I did say "Yes"), but the staff when they found out were truly amazing and so happy for us. I just want to say a huge thank you to everyone there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornishpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolomondoGlasgow, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and also congratulations to you on your engagement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    202
    60
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food good, expensive”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very limited at times and days with special menu like celebration menu and no flexibility from menu.
Service was good, food was good, but not fantastic, wasnt blown away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Letitia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bland”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

After seeing all the outstanding reviews we were excited that this restaurant was so close to our hotel. But I honestly don't know what restaurant the reviews were about because the place we are at was not at all good.

I had the sausage for my appetizer and it just tasted of tomato sauce. I couldn't taste the beans or sausage. For my main I had the seafood stew. On the bright side it had a good mix of seafood and they did not go cheap on the amount. On the not so bright side the food was largely tasteless. Everyone at our table was unhappy with their meal and we didn't order dessert because we couldn't imagine it being very good after the first two courses.
The menu is also confusing with various deals to choose from.
The service was quite reasonable, friendly and responsive. Everyone seemed to work as a team.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Evertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh...”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Average pretty much covers it.

They offer so many deals that I was confused as to which one I'd booked. The wine list is massive and a touch confusing after a cheeky cocktail before dinner! It does represent value for money as portions and quality average for the price paid. That said, no part of it blew my mind and would make me rush back - sorry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodloverglasgow33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arranged to meet friends, from Glasgow, for lunch in a restaurant of their choice. They suggested 'Piccolo Mondo', and although we'd been to Glasgow many times we had never heard of this 'Italian'. Not only that, we'd walked past it many times, such is the unassuming frontage. Walking past is a big mistake for this is an excellent restaurant in the centre of Glasgow. Good food and wine with first class service and at a reasonable price. Reminds me of the way Italian restaurants used to be, but better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgeangusallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolomondoGlasgow, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, and we are glad you never walked past us this time and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you gain in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing