We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #26 of 2,507 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arranged to meet friends, from Glasgow, for lunch in a restaurant of their choice. They suggested 'Piccolo Mondo', and although we'd been to Glasgow many times we had never heard of this 'Italian'. Not only that, we'd walked past it many times, such is the unassuming frontage. Walking past is a big mistake for this is an excellent restaurant in the centre of Glasgow. Good food and wine with first class service and at a reasonable price. Reminds me of the way Italian restaurants used to be, but better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgeangusallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolomondoGlasgow, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you never walked past us this time and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you gain in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 696 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Quality of food, presentation and service outstanding!
Excellent value. We did not have a reservation, the restaurant was very busy, but we still got a table.

Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolomondoGlasgow, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We are pleased to hear that we fulfilled your needs when you were dinning with us and do hope you will return to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went of a lunchtime with colleagues from work. Starter first rate, main really tasty. Would heartily recommend to all.I

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dawnrider2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolomondoGlasgow, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Piccolo Mondo restaurant in Glasgow's Argyle Street provides a superb dining experience, great food, excellent service and fantastic value for money. Anyone who likes Italian food should also try their sister restaurant in Renfrew.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolomondoGlasgow, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We really appreciate your comments on both our restaurants, and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I were recommended to this restaurant by the Concierge at the Radisson Blu: it was only 100 yards from the hotel, on the opposite side of Argyle Street.
We decided to try the Celebration Menu, which offered a complete 3-course meal for 2 people, with aperitifs, a bottle of wine (red, white or rose) from a choice of about a dozen, coffee or tea and a choice of liqueurs, at an inclusive price of £55. The food was excellent and the service first-class. Unsurprisingly, the restaurant was packed, but we were able to reserve a table for 4 people for the following night, when we took a couple of Glaswegian relatives for a treat: they were delighted, and determined to make further visits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolomondoGlasgow, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that the concierge of the raddison hotel recommended us to yourselves, and glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing