We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best restaurant in glasgow in my opinion”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #29 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“best restaurant in glasgow in my opinion”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

ate here with my husband and had the celebration menu. fantastic food. can highly recommend the chicken and duck liver pate starter. was beautiful and my mouth watering at the thought of it! hubby had the stuffed mushrooms and said they were really good too. paid a supplement of £5 to have the sirloin steak in pepper sauce and was well worth it. perfectly cooked to medium and a sauce to die for. tiramisu was just perfect as well. very, very good food and lovely ambience. wonderful staff too. what more could you ask for?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    205
    61
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Top Italian”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very good Italian food with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Starters of classic or vegetable antipasti are generous and delicious. Main courses well prepared and cooked and also offering a lot more than just pasta and pizza. More upmarket than chain Italians and definitely worth it. Good wine list as well. Not quite so enthusiastic about the puddings. The meringue in mine was bought in which is a shame as it's pretty easy to cook in-house.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BarnesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Such wonderful food and amazing service - went for the £12.50 for two course menu and could not believe the value for money. Been back four or five times since my first, gets better each time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahForbes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Quality Food”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch today and was very impressed by the whole experience. Very high standards in food and service. Lasagne was the best I'd tasted in any resturant. My partner had a chicken dish and rated it equally highly. Would recommend this establishment to all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blairlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant a stones throw from Glasgow Central Station.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was taken here by a friend for a birthday lunch and was surprised how good it was. They do a fantastic offer of 2 courses for £20 which includes an aperitif and coffee or a liqueur.

We had a glass albeit small of prosecco then for a starter I enjoyed a trio of deep fried onion rings, mushrooms and brie with a garlic dip and it was delicious. My friend is vegetarian and there was a good choice for her, she had minestrone soup.
My mai course was a pasta and chicken dish; very tasty and my friend had risotto. Since the ortions were of a good size I did not have a desert but the ones I saw being served at other tables were beautifully presented, instead we had a glass of amaretto and sat for some time to enjoy it.

The restaurant is larger than immediately thought, tables are grouped together which gives the intimacy of a small restaurant but larger groups could be accomodated without disturbing a romantic table for two.

The service was excellent and I will definately eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing