We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food good price”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #29 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Anderston
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food good price”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

First time dining here really nice and good value for money. Waiters attentive and friendly. We had the celebration menu 55 pounds for two people and you get a lot for your money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoegal_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    202
    60
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rushed out the door!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Food OK however with 30 mins to spare (on 2 hour slot for table) refused further bottle of wine between 5 people!! Manager then very twitchy getting us to pay up (we'd already asking for bill) & clear table for next booking despite us having to wait for table on arrival. Won't rush back as far better Italian restaurants in Glasgow - not rocket science to make a good plate of Italian food!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Javida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolomondoGlasgow, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant.
I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your experience with us. The waiter may have gone about this in the wrong manner and for this I do apologise, although you did receive the wine albeit a little later than requested.
As I explained at the time the reason we like to advise customers when ordering other drinks before their table is due back is because there has been many instances when customers automatically think they can keep the table a little longer when ordering more drinks and do not realise we have other diners waitng for their table.

Regards

Mr Pierotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, excellent service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had heard lots of good things about Piccolo Mondo but after trying to book for Friday and Saturday nights unsuccessfully (a good sign that it's booked up in advance), we decided to book for a week night. The decor is very traditional, there's nice background music (not too loud) and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome so it makes for a nice, relaxing atmosphere. The food was lovely, we had the 2 courses plus coffee menu which we felt was good value for money. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a nice meal served very efficiently by friendly staff in a lovely environment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AandA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My Favourite Restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Have visited this restaurant many times and food and service are always of a high standard.Good value for money and always has good offers on.Staff make you feel welcome and good ambience about the restaurant,in general. Nothing ever seems to be too much trouble to the staff. Celebration menu is excellant value for money. Looking forward to my next visit there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rharper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
143 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Decent food and service. Some of the waiters a little over familiar, especially the non Italian trying to be Italian ones! Would recommend to others, food is nice.

Helpful?
2 Thank truth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing