We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of La Bonne Auberge

La Bonne Auberge
Reserve with OpenTable
La Bonne Auberge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 2,429 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: The original La Bonne Auberge first opened its doors on Bastille Day in 1975, and it's had something to celebrate ever since. Glasgow's first French-Mediterranean brasserie and Bar, this smart restaurant with its aproned waiters and blackboard menus now has an AA Rosette to confirm what the locals have known all along. Set in the fashionable Theatreland district, this is a feast of Riviera cuisine.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great food from a very good attractive menu. not too many choices to be complicated, well cooked, professional service and good value. no dislikes!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinSW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We are delighted you saw us as good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    268
    79
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Nice food and great venue”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Friend booked this as an Itison deal for two main courses. Great service from bar and once at table with regular checks that food was fine which it was. Only negative was the maître-d, when we approached the desk to be seated he kept us waiting as he prepared a bill - he apologised which was fine but went on to prepare another bill for a waitress as we stood there waiting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordonm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review. Our staff do appreciate the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal. We opted for the 2 courses for 16.95 and the food was fresh, light and well cooked. Service was good and attentive.

We used a tastecard so got an even better deal overall.

Overall I can recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nairn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“HOLIDAY INN/LA BONNE AUBERGE”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My family decided that the Holiday Inn Hotel & La Bonne Auberge Private Dining would make a fantastic venue for our parents 50th Golden Wedding Anniversary Celebrations. This due to its close proximity to the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall where a key event was to take place.
My parents were booked into an executive room,; which they simply loved. The private dining experience for our family party of 17 was fantastic, my parents and the family group were made to feel extremely welcome and made at home.
The food Menu and standard of food was magnificent, with everyone in our party making comment; a first class Chef & his team, We had our own Hostess (Samantha) who looked after all our needs and simply made our celebrations memorable. Thank-you Team Holiday Inn

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are delighted to hear your family enjoyed such a special occassion at La Bonne Auberge. Thanks for the comments regarding the food and service. I am sure Samantha will be delighted to hear the feedback.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine burger - overcooked rib eye”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had a small lunch at La Bonne Auberge in an almost empty restaurant. The service was fast and observing and the food was ok.

I had the "La Bonne Auberge steak burger" which sounded a bit like a steak sandwich. It was not. It was a good ground burger with very good rolls. It was served with a side of crisp fries.
The fries was very good. I had to ask for ketchup to my fries.

My friend had the "Chargrilled rib eye steak" which had a very good peppercorn sauce. The steak was ordered to be medium but was cooked well done, but according to my friend was saved by the sauce.

Compared to the overall food quality, this is a bit overpriced but ok for a quick dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am sorry that we got the cooking of the steak wrong on this occassion.Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Auberge also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to La Bonne Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing