We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of La Bonne Auberge

La Bonne Auberge
Ranked #116 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: The original La Bonne Auberge first opened its doors on Bastille Day in 1975, and it's had something to celebrate ever since. Glasgow's first French-Mediterranean brasserie and Bar, this smart restaurant with its aproned waiters and blackboard menus now has an AA Rosette to confirm what the locals have known all along. Set in the fashionable Theatreland district, this is a feast of Riviera cuisine.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The menu is good with a good variety of food. It is not too expensive but if you have a tastecard you will half the bill. Best to book in advance

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pearl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    271
    81
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If the food here was as good as the service, I would be here every weekend, we were here on a deal £45.00 for three courses including a bottle of wine and whilst this is very reasonable other restaurants do offer a similar deal which offers better value. The food was okay, but the menu selection was limited and on the whole quite bland and boring, the food was nicely presented but the portion sizes were small. As I mentioned at the beginning the service can't be faulted.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank deryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and the kind comments. We will certainly keep your comments in mind when planning future menus.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Attended a dinner here and our group were given a private room in the hotel area. The staff could not have been more helpful. Several of our party had special dietary requirements and were catered for with courtesy and care. THe food was excellent value for money and delicious. Without exception, the staff went out of their way to make our dining experience enjoyable. Highly recommend. !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for the review we are delighted that you enjoyed it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“"Excellent Quality and Service Every Time"”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have a 'Tastecard' discount card and regularly dine at La Bonne Auberge when meeting with colleagues and friends and have found the quality of food and service to be excellent. Latest visit was a day out to the movies at Cineworld across the road from the restaurant then after the film my wife and I went for a meal and drinks. My wife had the Loin of Venison and I had a Fillet Steak and both dishes were delicious. I always find it a problem in restaurants to get a steak just the way I like it but La Bonne Auberge chefs always get it right for me. I asked for some Chardonnay wine which was not in stock but the staff recommended Vermentino which went down rather well. Although only a main course and drinks I feel the quality of the food and service for £55 after 'Tastecard' discount was excellent value for money and I look forward to my next visit to La Bonne Auberge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review we do appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Great Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit. I chose the restaurant as I was staying at the nearby Holiday Inn Express and The Bonne Auberge accepted my Tastecard Discount. I had Scallops followed by Ribeye Steak. Everything was beautifully cooked and the quality was superb. The steak was cooked exactly as I required and the accompanying vegetables were fresh and tasty.

The service was excellent. I was swiftly seated and my Waiter, Douglas, showed his knowledge of the menu. Always a good sign in my book. He was also able to recommend an excellent locally brewed beer. (I'm not much of a wine drinker). Two pints of St Mungo Ale, from the West Microbrewery, went down extremely well and was just the right choice. Well done Douglas.

My fellow diners all seemed to be enjoying their experience. I will certainly come here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rivergodzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanSimpson11, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. It's encouraging for the whole team and Douglas is deservedly thrilled to see his name mentioned in such a good light.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Auberge also viewed

 

Been to La Bonne Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing