We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food huge portions”
Review of Shish Mahal

Shish Mahal
Ranked #274 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: West End
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food huge portions”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was taken here by a work colleague who had lived in Glasgow years ago, he was a little worried that it wouldn't live up to his memories but I have to say it was absolutely excellent. Portions are huge and the food is fantastic, six of us went and all had different things so I got to sample plenty of the menu ( especially as people got full due to the size of the portions!). Waiters gave good advice on how hot dishes were. I found the prices fairly reasonable other than the usual overpriced lager, food alone was as good value as most places, personally I don't mind paying a reasonable amount for such good quality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wesley1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    82
    49
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent restaurant. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Even better, they are very knowledgable of the dishes they serve and recommendations are helpful. Good for a couple or larger groups. Worth booking ahead but they are great at fitting you in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossk1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Curry Heaven”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very nice restaurant with good service,although the waiter forgot our drinks order.A bit on the pricey side which was a bit off putting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingminstral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best curry in Glasgow ”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The ultimate and original curry house in Glasgow. This used to be my boyfriend and I's local restaurant. We would saunter downstairs and get a table any time and be brought a fantastic and delicious curry within minutes of arriving. I really can't recommend it enough. Writing this review is making me want to go again this weekend!

Helpful?
Thank keightfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Still stands as a model for the 'New Kids in Town'”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Like another reviewer, I have fond memories of being inducted into the wonderful world of Indian curries here some 40 years ago,and even having a (failed) shot at making a similar one when Mr Ali published his cookbook some 25 years ago,since when I prefer to let them do the cooking.
Glad to see they just got an international award for Chicken Ticka Masala, considered by us Glaswegians, as a particularly Glasgow creation emanating from the Shish.
Best value curry lunch in the West End,and a warm welcome to all.
There's so much to choose from,it's very much a personal entry from me; for curry connoisseurs, a must.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockin ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shish Mahal also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Shish Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing