We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best curry in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shish Mahal

Shish Mahal
Ranked #285 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best curry in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place never fails to disappoint. Cannot recommend the lamb tandoori enough. Really great lunch menu too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enigma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    78
    47
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, I especially enjoyed the Peshawar naan. The service was the only negative, mid meal table of four all with empty glasses! Took about 10 minutes to flag someone down to get a drink even though the restaurant was quiet. However all in all I will return and enjoy again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mabfrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant with my family for over twenty years (since I was 4!). The food is excellent, particularly the Saturday lunch menu. A good amount of variety and a 3 course meal for under a tenner. Highly recommend the chicken chaat for started and the lahori chilli chicken for main has a great spicy mango flavour without being sickly sweet. Excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiantScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The original and one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Shish is one of the few Indian restaurants we use for take-aways and it is always excellent. Food is consistently delicious and the service is very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dougies_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is the best Indian Restaurant in Glasgow. I have now been on a few occassions and the service is next to none. The food is cooked to perfection and always well presented. Its just fab and I would hightly recommend this. I have been to numerous Indian Restaurants in and around Glasgow but this one is the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wee-yin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shish Mahal also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Shish Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing