We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to our complimentary prawn crackers.”
Review of Dragon-i

Dragon-i
Reserve with OpenTable
Dragon-i is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: In a remarkably short space of time Dragon-i has become one of the most talked about restaurants in not only Glasgow, but in Scotland as a whole. In fact, this astonishing eating establishment has captured the headlines south of the border, having been named one of the top five Chinese UK restaurants in the prestigious Observer food monthly supplement. But Dragon-i is more than a traditional Chinese eaterie - considerably more - as the plethora of culinary awards testifies to the creative skills of our Scottish Chef Silver Award Winner, Stephen Man whose remarkable vision has turned it into an unforgettable dining experience. Their outstanding passion in creating a superb dining experience and a friendly environment with outstanding personal contact make any visit an evening to remember and treasure.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What happened to our complimentary prawn crackers.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to Dragon-i on Sunday 2/06/13 using an Itison Voucher and noticed ourselves and other customers that used vouchers did not receive and complimentary prawn crackers. I know this may be a very minor complaint but we were after all still paying customers and should not have been treated any different from any other customers. More so considering that outwith the meal on the voucher we paid for starters, sweets, soft drinks and wine.
Considering all of the above I think this is very mean of Dragon-i .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank molly072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    79
    33
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food, definately worth a visit”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friend and I visited dragon I on a Thursday night, the restaurant wasn't full and we were immediately showed to our table. We both ordered black pudding spring rolls which were amazing, I had the beef in seafood chilli sauce with garlic friend rice and my friend has the mixed seafood with garlic fried rice, and shared a side of salt and chilli chips. All food was cooked to perfection. I thought it would have been a bit busier due to the fact it was a thurs. only negative I would say is that when we were finished with our mains, our plates were cleared and we were left without being asked if we wanted dessert or more drinks. We sat for around 20 minutes then had to ask for bill ourselves. All in all very good place to eat

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfection On A Plate”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

How lucky we were to have had an itison voucher for 2 main courses with wine at the Dragon-i in Glasgow, just across from the Theatre Royal.
This place comes out on top easily for one of the nicest lunches we have ever had. Both our mains were absolutely delicious. I had the Thai Gai and my wife had the Lo Hon Gai. I will have the Lo Hon Gai next time we visit..... it looked lovely.
As I have already said we were lucky to have had this Itison voucher or we may never have found this special place serving the best food ever.
The staff were also very helpful and friendly too...I would highly recommend dining here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne311247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Another amazing family meal at the dragon-i 1 of the best Chinese restaurants in Glasgow not the run of the norm something a little bit different. Thanks again 2 all the lovely staff couldn't have asked for more

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynette0094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistently Outstanding”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of my favourite restaurants in Glasgow, the service is attentive and smooth, the feel and decor is modern. The food? Amazing. Really worth going, and returning again and again, like I do.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon-i also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Dragon-i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing