We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable Sunday”
Review of The Left Bank

The Left Bank
Ranked #402 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Scottish, European, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An enjoyable Sunday”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Firstly on entering lovely service, drink order taken and all served quickly and efficiently. We then decided to eat and all I can say the starters of ribs, chicken satay and prawns were all superb we even ordered another portion of ribs.
Main courses were also nice although my burger was over cooked but not to the point I could not eat it.
A few had desserts and again all happy.
Staff nice although the chap serving us could have smiled a bit more we were in 8 and spending a fair bit of money on quite a quiet Sunday.

Overall will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrieri16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    107
    34
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“McClectic”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Whereas genuine cuisine fusions can be fascinating (Indo-French at London's Cinnamon Club comes immediately to mind), different cuisines that simply rub shoulders on an eclectic menu frequently offer the most superficial fare but not so at the Scottish/eclectic Left Bank where the menu offers a variety of cuisines with panache.

We could have chosen Mexican, Spanish or Indian favourites but we opted for three starters: Meatballs with parmesan (Italian), Tiger prawns with coconut milk and green chilli (Thai) and chick pea fritters (Eastern Mediterranean). We could have gone on choosing starters, tapas style, but opted for more solid fare: blackened salmon (Scottish/Cajun) and haloumi (Greco/Turkish), the former with coleslaw with spicy nuts, the latter with tobacco onions. Finally, we shared a plate of three superb Scottish cheeses.

The wines on offer were big and fruity to set off the spices and, for a major city, the price was modest. The ambience was lively and the service was cheerful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Had another lovely breakfast here. I have had 3-4 breakfasts over the last 3 years and the standard has never deteriorated. Very mellow and welcoming, I always enjoy it. Very good staff who are very accommodating.

The wheelchair toilet is very good, clean and spacious.

Will definitely be returning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NBr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

In general the food here was good and all three of us would definitely go back. All starters were good although the ribs and chicken skewers were only lukewarm. The three main courses were delicious, I had the chilli and loved it. The only downside was the wine list which we all felt was far too expensive for this style of restaurant. Some redecoration wouldn't go amiss especially to the side room on the left when looking in the front.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Got food poisoning, they didn't care”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was taken here by colleagues for a birthday meal, which was ruined by the fact I was vomiting within half an hour of eating. I emailed the restaurant and received a dismissive response, claiming that it could not possibly have been their food, despite me having felt perfectly fine before eating.
I decided not to pursue the complaint at the time but have just found out a colleague was also ill after the same visit - even though we ate different meals (but both chicken).

The restaurant did not even ask the date of our visit, so little was their concern.

Will not be back,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelinaballerina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Left Bank also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing