We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & service for Sunday lunch. Dog & Child friendly”
Review of The Left Bank

The Left Bank
Ranked #400 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Scottish, European, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow
Level Contributor
163 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food & service for Sunday lunch. Dog & Child friendly”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A great cafe/restaurant well run with a wonderfully fresh and simple menu. Relaxed atmosphere feels more like Brooklyn than Glasgow Definitely reccomend

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dobehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    107
    34
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch midweek and went for the ribs to start followed by a shared burger. Both were very tasty and fairly priced. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank FussyAboutRibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Consistently good food....”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a regular favourite of mine and I have been coming here since it opened.
The staff are always friendly and helpful and usually manage to find you a seat even when you haven't booked.
The ambience is more bistro than restaurant and is very popular at lunch time which is my preferred time to visit.
The menu selection is quirky and interesting while still offering daily specials. If you like soup you will be blown away by some of the strange combinations and how good they taste. They make an outstanding curry no matter what type is on offer it's always good and the chicken satay starters is one of my favourites.
My only complaint is the dominance of West beers on draught as I am not a big fan, however there are plenty bottled varieties on offer and a good selection of wine.
Prices are reasonable and a visit won't break the bank.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Randomly stumbled across this absolute gem”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were ambling around Glasgow on our way to the Mackintosh house and needed somewhere for a late breakfast. We couldn't have been luckier to find this place.

Cracking coffee but the highlight was the food - absolutely sensational eggs mornay made us loathe to leave!

The whole experience was chilled out, service was good and it made us wish we could linger, read the Sunday paper and general enjoy the place even more.

Definitely keep an eye out for it, absolutely brilliant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indigo_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Service - Fair Food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had excellent service at this restaurant. The food, on the other hand, was mediocre. The meatballs were bland and dry, but the chick pea fritters were good. The salmon, though well-seasoned, was a bit overdone. The chicken was good. Limited wine selection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Left Bank also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing