We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of City Merchant

City Merchant
Ranked #114 of 2,552 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Reviewed October 29, 2012

6 of us arrived early on Saturday evening in the hope of securing a table and we were not disapointed. From the friendly welcome to the table service and the excellent food right up to the goodbyes the whole experience was memorable. The pre theatre menu is great value. We will return next time in Glasgow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeSmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thanks you for the lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 823 of 984 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had our wedding meal in the City Merchant, in their function room. We had 45 guests and it was fantastic: it was intimate, but still elegant. There is a bar in the room, so our guests could go and get all the drinks they wanted. The food and service was just outstanding! The owner and staff were very helpful and professional, always helping to meet our requirements.

My wife and I definitely reccommend this restaurant and their function room for small events.

Thank gaetano_g1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks for the lovely review, we thoroughly enjoyed your wedding day just as much as you did! Hope you pop by for a visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We decided to eat here on Tuesday night after wandering past quite a few other emptier looking restaurants. We were right to take the business as a good sign. I went for a fish dish and my husband had a steak - both were very good, and I would definitely recommend the Cranachan with very buttery shortbread if you have room! It did feel like it might be a bit of a tourist trap but other than that an enjoyable experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CatherineW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Many thanks for the great review! We do cook a mean steak...hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

For a variety of reasons it had been many years since I last ate at the City Merchant in Candleriggs. It was a Monday evening and as expected the place was very quiet with only 4 tables occupied plus a wedding party in a separate room.

The restauarnt concentrates on fish with decor to match. Lighting is dim making the menu difficult to read. It was our Eastern European waiter's first day and we had to assist him with cutlery etc. He was friendly and cheerful and I am sure he will learn quickly.

The food was of high qualityand our party had mussels, scallops, monkfish, sea bass, chicken balmoral. All enjoyed their food and the only complaint was the strong sauce with the sea bass which tended to overcome its delicate flavour. The monkfish with a touch of ginger was lovely and in a generous portion. Sweets were enjoyed. The wine list was not extensive but the prices were fair.

An enjoyable meal which has persuaded me to revisit my old friend again in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Many thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went six times for lunch. Excellent cuisine with good variety of fish. If you want to enjoy a good meal, fish orientated, this is the place. You won't turn into a captain Ahab...Lunch time price is reasonable for the quality delivered.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pierre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We love getting good reviews! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing