We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Ho Wong

Ho Wong
Ranked #351 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Always good”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Usually go here during an annual business trip to Glasgow. Food and service is always good, if not particularly cheap.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    119
    44
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Food in Glasgow”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been here a few times and it just keeps on getting better! The chicken satay - aromatic duck - ribs - prawns - curry - deserts. everything is beautiful!! Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank MrNice1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best chicken satay in glasgow”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My boyfriend introduced me to ho wong and it's superb business lunch. The food is phenomenal and it has a very nice atmosphere. The staff are attentive and quick without being obtrusive. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

It is a wee bit pricier than your average city centre lunch menu but if you want excellent quality food then go to Ho Wong!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CFD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese food ever, don't bother”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Came here for reading the reviews but what a disappointment. We had better Chinese takeaways. They obviously had two seating per night so it felt rush. Food was really nothing special and worse was to come. Dinner for two with two beer came to £65. Seriously. Decor was also too old and way too dark. I wouldn't recommend this place at all. Go somewhere else and you will have a better evening

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monkey168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
670 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Good food but not a relaxing evening”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner with a friend after a gap of a few years. It's perhaps not the best Chinese food in Glasgow but it's still very good. I had forgotten how irritating the service is however. It's difficult to carry on a conversation because every few minutes your glass is being filled or a waitress is hovering. The staff and the manager are fairly sullen and there is little interaction with customers. Maybe it's because they don't speak much English but we felt that once we'd finished the meal, they lost interest in us completely and barely said goodbye when we left. It's still a popular restaurant but I think I'd like to find somewhere more welcoming the next time we're looking for a Chinese restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Wong also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ho Wong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing