We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Instantly forgettable”
Review of Mansion House - CLOSED

Mansion House
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Merchant City
Description: Mansion House sprawls over three floors behind a sleek glass street-level frontage which overlooks the bustling pavements of central Glasgow. Relaxed in the daytime, the laid-back atmosphere starts to buzz as the space fills up with evening revellers drawn by the lively nightclub and three bars. A modern restaurant serves East-West fusion food, from katsu chicken curry to traditional favourites such as beer-battered fish and chunky chips.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Instantly forgettable”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Went in here on Saturday as our first port of call simply because we were passing and had never been in before. Place looked ok but nothing special. Not really my type of place as kids were everywhere and it almost felt like some sort of crèche. Had children myself and I know that parents have to eat somewhere and that's fine but not for an old fogie like me. Quickly left and went along to Boudoir wine bar which is more my type of place. Nothing more to say other than we won't go back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionH, Public Relations Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to Mansion House, all feedback is essential in order for us to grow and develop.

I am concerned & disappointed to read your comments, here at the Mansion House we strive to provide all guests with high levels of service at all times.

I do hope that you will consider visiting our venue again in the future as we would welcome the opportunity to redeem your opinion.

Warm regards,

Sean Gillies - Public Relations Manager
Mansion House Glasgow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    39
    22
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best nights!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Went here on Saturday night for my friends birsthday. Had a fantastic meal then booked a booth for the night. The meal was great and the staff were so helpful. Will deffos be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickCuffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionH, Public Relations Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for providing feedback on your recent visit!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and that you felt well looked after by the staff!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Sean Gillies - Public Relations Manager
Mansion House Glasgow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great night out”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Would highly recommend mansion house to anyone great night out and the food was great I also liked the different themed bars and the staff were welcoming and freindly will be returning soon for a work night out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleighbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionH, Public Relations Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello Ashleigh,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review & we're glad that your visit to Mansion House was everything you hoped for & more. All feedback, good or bad is essential to help us grow & improve as a business and a great venue for people to visit.

We pride ourselves on high levels of customer service and we're glad we nailed it for you & can't wait to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Sean Gillies - Public Relations Manager
Mansion House Glagsow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally horrendous!!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Visited for a hen weekend and I have to say it was horrendous!
Quality of the food, service and entire experience was total crap including the nightclub!
Firstly, the waiters and waitresses looked like they didn't have a clue what was going on, they didn't care and couldn't give a crap!! Anything we asked for was totally impossible!!! This is beyond me really! This goes right down to asking for basics like water, vinegar etc.... The whole thing was laughable!
We had to be there for 8pm sharp but didn't get our table until after 9pm after asking on numerous occasions!! Got our table and thankfully we had a pre order..... Well, so you would think!! The food that came out made McDonalds look Gourmet!! Not one person out of 10 people had one good thing to say, it was highly priced and was nothing more than low budget frozen food (dessert was embarrassing as it was rock solid and was clearly frozen & you could've split someone with the burger!!)
We arranged a package including wine etc and had to almost beg for the drink to be given to us! Anyone considering to go here, think again!! We got shocking service and the food, drink and entertainment was pretty much on par if not just below!!! All in all major disappointment!
The most annoying bit was it was pre paid so you don't stand a chance getting money back, total con!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RKT_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionH, Public Relations Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are extremely disappointed to read that your visit to Mansion House was't everything you hoped for. All feedback, good or bad is essential to help us grow & improve.

All issues that you have raised in your review will be thoroughly investigated. We train our staff monthly to make sure that our high level of service standards are met.

I would like to invite you to contact me personally regarding the issues in question on 0141 553 4888 or by sending me an email at: sean.gillies@novusleisure.com

I do hope that you will consider visiting our venue again in the future as we would welcome the opportunity to redeem your opinion.

Warm Regards,

Sean Gillies - Public Relations Manager
Mansion House Glasgow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Visited this evening with a friend for dinner and it is by far the worst experience both of us has had.
We eat out a lot and got a voucher for a 3 course meal through amazon local, saving 52%.....i think they took 52% off the quality of service and food!!
We both got haggis fritter/balls for starters. After watching the inexperienced, rabbit in the headlights waitress walk around from table to table with our food, it was eventually thumped onto our table before she swiftly walked away without uttering a word, we discovered that this was the stickiest, blandest haggis we have ever eaten, it was served with "clap shot" which was supposed to be potato and neeps (think the neeps were included in the 52% discount) and a pepper sauce that tasted of nothing but mint....disgusting!!
We both then ordered steak. my friend ordered well done and it came black, with a random medium spot in the middle. i ordered mine medium-well done and again patches of less cooked meat through the steak.....don't really get this?! The steak was supposed to come with skin on chips but we got bland pub style fries!! And more of this minty "pepper" sauce!
My friend then got a chocolate/fudge cake for pudding that was dry and i ordered a vanilla cheesecake with raspberry coulis. The cheesecake had clearly been frozen as it had split and became grainy/powdery.....actually inedible!!
Through all of this, not one member of staff asked us if everything was ok? if we needed anything? When we had enough, we asked for our bill, only to wait 25 minutes to be told our bill was settled as we had soft drinks instead of the bottle of wine, which was a nice end to a terrible evening!
Would not go back or recommend Mansion House to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansion House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing