We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food worth the wait.”
Review of Bar Soba

Bar Soba
Ranked #318 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Our award-winning flagship bar & restaurant opened in 1999 and, whilst there have been a few changes to the Far Eastern-inspired decor, we've maintained our reputation for serving high quality Pan-Asian street food and exciting and inventive cocktails. We pride ourselves on our generous portions of mouth-watering, authentic Asian cuisine, served by our friendly and attentive staff, in a cool and intimate environment - only a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle of Glasgow's city centre.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food worth the wait.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Booked a table for Saturday night at 7.45 for 6 people.

It was a busy night when we went we were a bit early but was shown to our table within 5-10 minutes, the table we were given had bar stools which I do not like so went to the back wall to sit not the greatest seat when you are under 5 ft in height. We asked for another table like the one we were at and was told no tables available as there were 6 of us previous table was for only 4.

We ordered the food at eight and it took about 35 minutes to arrive it was worth the wait but when i queried it i was told "well we are busy".

The food was really good and very enjoyable not sure if i would go back on a Saturday night.

unfortunately it might have been a better experience if we were not sitting where we were as I am short and we had an older lady with us as well and did not enjoy where we were sitting this was the only bad point i have to make.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weekrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayew88, General Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Weekrankie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Bar Soba! The team and I remember your party well, and you were a pleasure to serve. I'm sorry you had long waiting times during the evening, but I am glad to hear that your server had the presence of mind to prepare you for the small wait.

For the next time you are looking to book with us, please do not hesitate to put a personal note on your booking to have a low table - we love to cater for everyone when we can!

Kind regards,

Faye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    159
    78
    45
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Was really excited to try the food here as the menu is really good but was extremely dissapointed, the food was average but nothing to be exited about! Ordered the chicken Katsu curry but there was a severe lack of curry sauce so I basically had a plate of dry rice and battered chicken. The service was unbelievable, I think the staff genuinely forgot about us. We waited 40 minutes expecting them to come over with a desert menu, which never even happened so we just asked for the bill, with which we got a very annoyed response. It was like we were a huge inconvenience to them! Fair to say we did not leave a tip, such a shame because it's really lovely inside and would have considered going back if the service wasn't so bad! Only go if you can spare 2 hours just to eat one course!

Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayew88, General Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Bar Soba - without honest feedback like yours, we cannot strive to improve the service we provide.
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience, and that both the food and service missed the mark on this occasion.

We'd love for you to have an opportunity to change your impression of Bar Soba. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please drop me a line at faye@barsoba.co.uk.

Thanks again,

Faye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and service”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Popped in for a quick cocktail on a Sunday afternoon, and thanks to the fabulous bar staff we ended up staying for a few, plus some tasty snacks.

The cocktails were uniformly excellent, and the tempura and tikki were equally good. What really earns the 5 stars here though are the staff. They were all friendly and chatty, and happy to answer our questions around the cocktails we were drinking. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scottravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayew88, General Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Scottravel32,

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your afternoon with us - thank you for taking the time to review us!
Richard and Alyson remembered you from when you were in and were very pleased to know you found them helpful and professional!

We all look forward to your next visit - our brand new cocktail menu will be released before the end of the month so you'll have plenty of new drinks to try!

Thanks again,

Faye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

One of my favourite places in glasgow for a quick bite. Fantastic lunch and pre theatre deals, although full menu is reasonable.
Service is good, food is good and great cocktails and drink promos. Personally I would avoid on a fri/sat night if you are eating as it becomes a very loud busy bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayew88, General Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bar Soba. It's great to hear that you find our prices agreeable!

The atmosphere in the bar area can indeed get quite electric on a Friday and Saturday evening as we have some of Glasgow's top name DJ's taking to the decks, but we do try our best to keep our restaurant area downstairs as a calmer area - please don't hesitate to request a table downstairs in future!

Thanks again,

Faye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Ive been to this place a couple of times and it hands down does the best cocktails. I like to drink an old fashioned when im out and this place makes it perfect every time. The prices are middle of the road about £6.50 a cocktail give or take.

Helpful?
Thank Padatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayew88, General Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Padatron,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Bar Soba! I'm glad to hear you've been enjoying our cocktails, and that we're able to get your drink of choice perfect for you!
If you're keen on an Old Fashioned, I'd recommend trying our 'Toot Sweet' cocktail next time you drop in - Woodford's Reserve bourbon is gently stirred with Vanilla vodka and Amaretto, and seasoned with bartender's choice bitters before being topped with a splash of cranberry juie. Delicious!

Thanks again,

Faye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Soba also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bar Soba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing