We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Firebird Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Firebird Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #448 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Big fan of Firebird for years now. Great drink selection, food of the highest quality and being across from the art gallery, in a beautiful setting (When weathers nice!).

Pizzas are a specialty, possibly best in Glasgow, but their entire menu makes it a must visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    84
    25
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Eclectic casual dining”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Firebird is a regular of our family. A curious combination of styles that works fantastically. A regularly changing menu influenced by Mediterranean styles, with a bit of N African (sometimes). What I love is the changing menu that seems to have a quarterly facelift that keeps it all fresh and interesting.

Firebird has casual bar dining and a seated and reservable restaurant area. The bar noise melts into the overall atmosphere, and there are usually kids in as well earlier on.

So this time we had pan fried hake on a pea, pancetta and potato bed which was delicious. Also, Lamb koftas, corander and apricot cous cous, shaved fennel and almond
salad with tahini yaghurt and spiced flat bread also very good. Firebird is well known for its' pizzas and is widely regarded as the best in Glasgow.

Great kids menu at £3.50 is good value too, and a pretty good wine list and different beers.

Staff are very welcoming, polite and smiley, which I like.

I've been coming here for years, it is reliable, family friendly and relaxing. My only negative - I wouldn't have a TV in the bar, but it's high up and out the way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tartanfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
206 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Glasgow”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Firebird is one of the nicest pubs in Glasgow. Whenever I am in Glasgow this is my first stop. The staff goes beyond what is expected and the food is fresh and tasty (The pizza is the best in Glasgow). This is a very family friendly pub (restaurant?) and you always feel welcome. I highly recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
“Great Family Meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great place for eating out with kids. All four of us enjoyed our meal, highlights being the delicious Amalfi Lemon Linguini and the Triple cooked chips. Friendly, attentive staff who fussed over the children - they loved it. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FRMJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Relaxed place for lunch”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place for a drink or lunch. The food is tasty and nicely prepared (I particularly liked the paprika coated chips) and the staff are very friendly. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padburygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebird Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Firebird Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing