We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loud diners ruined our evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabin

Cabin
Ranked #639 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $57
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“loud diners ruined our evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

out for dinner with my husband, meal was lovely, pate and fishcakes for starters and venison and lab for mains. All delicious. Unfortunately the evening was completely ruined by a table of eight talking excessively loudly, especially one woman. I did complain but nothing was done - not even a polite mention to the table. Would have to think carefully before returning

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorna1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    57
    22
    16
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Old Glasgow institution that thoroughly deserves its place amongst Glasgow's top eateries. Great food, great people and terrific atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcadamwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good fun, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Cabin is a bit of a Glasgow institution and is great fun. The food is predictably good and the singing is .... unique! The wine flows and so does the conversation. Very enjoyable place to spend an evening. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westendie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth making a trip to The Cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Excellent service; Friendly and welcoming. Food was lovely - I had dover sole for main course which was beautifully cooked as was the venison my husband chose was also very good. The homemade cheesecake we had for dessert was delicious ! Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not as good as previous visits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Took my hubby for 40th birthday, and was bit dissapointed as this being one of our fav restaurants and never had a bad meal here.
I had seafood platter which i have most times, portion very small only 1 small piece of sole. 4 mussles, 4 prawns, and there was a £2 supplement which we werent told about till it appeared on bill.hubby had lamb which was very chewy, we both had cheese platter which had 4 small pieces of cheese and pile of biscuits, waiter did explain they were short of cheddar.
I hate to put this review in as i have always enjoyed my times here, but just felt let down on this occation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karenstrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing