We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic meal”
Review of Ashoka Ashton Lane

Ashoka Ashton Lane
Ranked #53 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fantastic meal”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great family meal. the place is super busy. but the food is fresh. prices reasonable, staff are attentive. overall good experience. food made to our exacting requirements. space is tight not ideal for little kids but we manage! but fantastic pricing for this area. good portions and fresh food. overall just fantastic,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nav010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    184
    79
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Appalling attitude from owner!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked this restaurant for 15 people for a friends birthday when we arrive we are told we are going to be seated at 2 different tables 11 of us at one table and 4 in a booth of course we are bit happy as we were not told this at booking and we obviously want to be at one table. Owner says he can't seat us together as he has to keep tables incase couple walk in off the street we say you shouldn't have took our booking then his attitude was it's my restaurant and I do what I want. Bring so many if us we would if been spending a lot of money so we left found a fantastic Indian round the corner who were mostly booked but managed to fit us in at one table fair to say that none of us will return terrible way to treat customers!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“We came back for a reason...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Despite being 200 miles from home, this restaurant is becoming one of our favourites. It was packed full on a Saturday night - which has got to be a good sign on its own - but they take reservations over the internet so we were fine for a table.

This is the curry house that introduced me to the idea of Haggis Pakora, and they're still on the menu (thankfully).

The service was fast, the staff friendly (which is one of the most important things for me), and the food was brilliant (even more important).

We'll come back again next time too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good flavouring and reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Food was served in a canteen style compartment dish but was nice to get a little bit of everything. Prices were good and staff were friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent meal again”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Second visit in the last four weeks and both times the food was excellent ,service friendly and overall great value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdory750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka Ashton Lane also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ashoka Ashton Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing