We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #51 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: The Mussel Inn is one of Glasgow’s première restaurants. Despite the name, our restaurant offers a much wider variety of food than just Scottish West Coast mussels served with our unique and delicious range of sauces. Our seafood dishes also include Creamy Seafood Chowder, Grilled King Scallops and Queen Scallops, Scottish oysters, and our amazing seafood platter (Mini Seafood Platter also available).
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a lovely sea food restaurant in the centre of Glasgow and well worth a visit. Casual restaurant with great sea food. Service a little poor and we were not told about the specials on offer when we arrived which was a little disappointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidays_yippee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    288
    60
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time visit and I'll be back !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

First time at the Mussel Inn was a Sat night family visist for my son's birhday. It was his choice and I was pleasantly surprised by the whole experienece. Menu is almost exclusively fishy apart from the token burger, so be aware if you are going that you really need to like seafood. I know the name of the restaurant should be a giveaway but be aware of this just in case !

I had the King scallops which were great, my wife optinf for Queen scallops, we wondered what the difference was and soon discovered that the Queens and basically tiny so dont waste your time with them go for the Kings !

Portions ok , lots of bread and the wine was nice so all in all a great night out, service wa also very good but they do add on a service charge of 10%, dont know if its discretionary or not but I paid as the service wa quite good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackGlagow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Great value seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Simple format - big pots of mussels, small pots of mussels both offered in one of 6 ways. A few other seafood options, scallops, oysters and a really good fish chowder.

Mussels were excellent both in the natural state and in a cream and shallot sauce.

Service friendly and brisk and prices reasonable. Situated a two minute walk up the hill from central station

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mussels North of the Train Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great seafood restaurant with their specialty being mussels. I had the Moroccan mussels. Fantastic. Haven't seen this recipe in other restaurants. Good location downtown on Hope St. Near the train station and within walking distances of many hotels. Service was quick and friendly. We went early and discovered they have a pre-theater special from 5PM to 6:30PM for a 2 or 3 course dinner. We had walked by the other Mussel Inn in Edinburgh but were not in the mood for seafood that night. Looking back I wish we had gone in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NaylandXSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Food fabulous, wine lovely. Perfect location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Clean, modern and spacious. Will definitely be back

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing