We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishy Choices galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #55 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: The Mussel Inn is one of Glasgow’s première restaurants. Despite the name, our restaurant offers a much wider variety of food than just Scottish West Coast mussels served with our unique and delicious range of sauces. Our seafood dishes also include Creamy Seafood Chowder, Grilled King Scallops and Queen Scallops, Scottish oysters, and our amazing seafood platter (Mini Seafood Platter also available).
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fishy Choices galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The menue is brillian for choices of sea food and shell fish. The seafood spaggetti is my favourite in the city. Great wine choices. It has a friendly and casual atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    293
    61
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberlour
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wonderfully fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stumbled across this place in Glasgow and I will be certainly return as the food was wonderful.
I had a half kilo of the Hot and Sour mussels with crusty bread and a house salad and they were truly scrumptious and filling.
The loos were modern and clean,the service was speedy and the whole place is clean sparling and modern and really busy as the food is so good.
There is a bank of chefs cooking in full view of the diners and they are producing simply the best fresh seafood here in Glasgow.
The £7.50 lunch menu looked incredible value with either the fresh seafood chowder or a plate of mussels cooked in various ways and loads of superb French crusty bread and butter to soak up the juices.
My salad and the mussels came to just under £13 but the quality was outstanding.
Next time I am in Glasgow I will be paying another visit if I am in the mood for seafood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speysider58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I go here quite often for the lunchtime quickie menu which is really good value at only £7.50. For that you get -
Bowl of Mussels or Seafood Chowder with Salad or French Fries
Choice of sauce: Natural, Shallot, Red pepper, Leek, Moroccan, Blue cheese, Hot & Sour
Choice of Bottle of Carlsberg, Glass of Wine or Soft Drink
You also get some crusty bread with butter to dunk in your sauce. I think for the money it is amazing value and very tasty as well. The only down side is that the restaurant is not very warm inside, but all the staff are really nice and good at their jobs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“simple tasty seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

i truly believe that mussel inn is underrated. It is a simple but excellent menu. service is prompt, friendly and efficient. the seafood is fresh and superbly cooked. I have been going to mussel inn since 2005 and it has not lost its quality. Its is also value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brendon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“If you like fish, you'll like this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been here 3 times and also to the sister restaurant in Edinburgh. They are more like cafe's than cosy restaurants, but don't let that deter you. What I've had every time is top quality fish, cooked just as it should be. This week, I opted for a kilo of mussels, Moroccan style with chilli, cumin and garlic. The flavours were gorgeous and very subtle rather than overpowering the wonderfully plump Scottish mussels. The accompanying french bread was really fresh and crusty (where do they buy it?). Unfortunately, I didn't have time for a sweet.
The service was excellent and I'll be back next time I visit Glasgow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldFroggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing