We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacklustre Food”

Malmaison Brasserie
Ranked #622 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $69 - $69
Cuisines: European, British, French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: "In the lively, bohemian Port of Leith, Malmaison Brasserie reigns supreme as a superlative place to meet and eat. The highly chic Art Nouveau French brasserie has sleek, stylish decor and actual port views. The staff are passionate about food, wine and service, and the dining room is lit with that brasserie buzz. Malmaison Executive Chef, Roy Brett has overall direction. What's cooking? Inspiration is taken from great 'French brasserie-style dishes' and further enhanced with a unique contemporary twist. Dishes include char-grilled ribeye with cafe de paris butter and fine beans and salmon fishcake with parsley sauce and buttered spinach. For those of you with a sweet tooth, be sure to try the tarte tartin with creme chantilly. "
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lacklustre Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had to use a voucher we bought a friend for Xmas and it was due to expire in Dec - out of choice we probably would not have ventured to Malmaison as we spent Hogmanay 2013 there and the food was awful - potato rosti was over salted and sent back 3 times to be eventually replaced with French Fries when the chef still couldn't get it right.

Dinner yesterday was booked via 5pm.co.uk and 2 of us had the pork chops and the other person chicken. Not much choice on the pre-theatre menu and we plumped for the safe choices. The sauce that came with the chicken was sweet? The mash that came with the pork chops was lukewarm.

We didn't send them back as previous experience tells us it would not make much difference - and the food wasn't inedible, so, we ate, paid and left.

The two stars are more for the staff, as although service was slow even if restaurant was half empty, they were professional. We would not advise eating at Malmaison as be prepared to be underwhelmed. We would like to add that we have been several times and each time we are disappointed - family and friends alike concurr. Unless there is a drastic change in food, we will not be back to eat. Disappointed Customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    68
    35
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Lovely food. I ordered the Thai Green Curry on room service. Lovely presentation and tasted delish!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gatesk3990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“SUNDAY Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited yesterday having bought a voucher through itison.The deal was excellent value. The bottle of wine supplied was good quality and the food was excellent. Our booking was for 2.30pm and we didn't leave until just before 5.00pm.We were not rushed and asked if we wanted a gap between our courses which was very much appreciated. We hadn,t been here for a couple of years however won't leave it as long until we revisit.Very pleasant staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Glam cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just visited for a few cocktails when on a day trip to Glasgow, waiter was lovely and it was no hassle for them to make a non alcoholic version for me as I was driving. Lovely selection and nice surroundings, would visit again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahDFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loyal customers but we won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We selected the Malmaison brasserie for a meal to celebrate my sister's graduation as we have been on many occasions before and loved it. On the night, our waiter was very attentive and pleasant and the food was delicious as always.
However, the food took 45 minutes to arrive and we received our coffees at the end of our meal.....with our desserts arriving 30 minutes after this! We waited around 20 minutes with no-one in sight before getting up to ask at the bar for our bill. We then had to go and search for our coats ourselves, again as no-one was available. As you can imagine, for a party of six, this was an expensive meal and so we expected a higher standard of service, particularly since there were only two tables occupied in the restaurant that night. We really felt there was a lack of management on the night, and could not fault the waiter or the chef.
When we approached Kevin, the manager on duty, as we were leaving, we expressed our disappointment as we were loyal customers who often celebrate family occasions with a meal at this brasserie. We hoped that he would be apologetic and try to resolve our situation in some way, so that we could return in the future. His attitude was very rude and he told us 'there are other things going on at the hotel'. As paying customers, this was no concern of ours and should not have impacted on our experience. He did not apologise, offer to remove the service charge from our bill, or in any way try to secure our future custom. Therefore, we will be taking our custom elsewhere in future.
Being a manager myself in one of the largest customer services businesses in the UK, I can understand the pressures that sometimes come with management, however the first rule in customer service in any business is always that the customer comes first!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L-babes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malmaison Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Malmaison Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing