We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must do experience”

The Ubiquitous Chip
Ranked #72 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“a must do experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have had many visits to the 'Chip' and never been disappointed. Yeah, sometimes bar service is slow but food is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitchendiva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    535
    201
    92
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been any better...”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

...unless it would have been free of charge...
Seriously our time there was perfect, excellent service, fantastic food. I'm not gonna write a novel about it because there isn't much to say, it lived up to our expectations, just go there! We ended up with a £100 bill for two, starters/mains/desserts/coffee and a bottle of wine that was recommended by the restaurant and was excellent! Surely that's not the cheapest restaurant in Glasgow but it's worth the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent experience, highly recommend”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Both the food and service were excellent; it is clear to see why this restaurant has such a good reputation. We enjoyed everything we had. Definitely recommend reservations as the restaurant was packed, even early on a Tuesday evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCDC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Who says you can't eat well in Scotland?”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here on recommendation from a British friend. What a gem of a place. Down a little lane in the west end of Glasgow this restaurant is 5 star dining. We both had the angus fillet (huge & too big for a ladies appetite) superbly cooked with dauphinois potatoes. Even though neither of us could finish our meals we shared a heavenly desert a bit like a ganache. The sommelier was fantastic - she chose a wonderful French Bordeaux to accompany our meals. Overall we had a beautiful night in a beautiful establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lferretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely to look at rather dull food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

been here several times, always end up thinking its over rated, if you like spicey colourful food, as in real Szechuan cooking, then you will perhaps find the chip a bit pallid, partly a question of taste but the sunday roast recently had was just not well cooked, and very expensive for what it was.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philipgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ubiquitous Chip also viewed

 

Been to The Ubiquitous Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing