We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

The Lansdowne Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #842 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Lansdowne Bar & Kitchen, or the LBK as the regulars know it, is the perfect place to come for amazing gastro pub food. Every weekend the Lansdowne restaurant is buzzing with diners, and regular private parties held in our Glasshouse!
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This place is hardly a 5 minute walk from where I stay and I never even knew it was here! The food was delicious, I had the stir fry! I loved going down the stairs outside into it, proper little hidden gem! We have been back quite a few times since the first! Keep it up!

Helpful?
Thank vicks2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne B, General Manager at The Lansdowne Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hey Vicks,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review!
I'm glad you've found us and are loving what we're upto! Make sure and tell you're friends as we really are a hidden gem! Hopefully see you back in again soon.

Thanks, Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    65
    29
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Read the reviews and was looking forward to the visit. It's a lovely Bar and the staff are attentive, but the food was a complete let down. It was just bland and I can't think of a worse thing to say about a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a great bar/restaurant. Superb selection of drinks and quality food. Friendly and welcoming staff (particularly Rebecca & Edita) with a relaxed atmosphere. Good music and brilliant venue for sport. It has it all for a relaxed night out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spikey_gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne B, Manager at The Lansdowne Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! Glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you in the venue again soon!

Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked this through 5pm.co for a relaxed lunch with friends. Very deceiving from the outside as it looks tiny. When you go in there is a nice bar area then you go through to the restaurant. There is also a nice conservatory area. As soon as you walk in there is a lovely welcoming atmosphere with lots of candles flickering.
The girl who served us was lovely and very efficient. The set menu was quite limited, however, we liked most of the items on it so this wasn't a problem. There was a glass of prosecco included in the deal which was a great way to start. The starters were excellent and the portion of haggis, neeps and tatties was huge. The mains were equally good and unfortunately we had no room for dessert.
Excellent values for money and a lovely relaxes atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LDS009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne B, General Manager at The Lansdowne Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi

Thanks for taking the time out to write such a lovely review. It's really nice to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanks

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but more focus on food presentation.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived as a party of 4 and were impressed by the lovely decor and the open fresh feel of the place. It was a warm sunny afternoon so the outside areas were all occupied but inside was still comfortable and fresh looking. A lovely place to eat. However, we were slightly disappointed by the food itself. I ordered rib eye steak which was reasonably priced until after ordering I find it did not include any accompaniment such as chips etc. My partner ordered Macaroni cheese which was rather plain for the price paid. Only 1 of us had desert, cheesecake. This was a piece of cream coloured cheesecake (I'm assuming vanilla) on a white plate with some cream. No attempt was made to make it look appetising. Half a strawberry with a squiggle of red juice or a dusting of cocoa would have taken a few seconds and made a huge difference to the presentation. We would return because of the nice ambience of this nice place but would be good to see these things addressed for us to return again after that. Good service. All good except those couple of negatives.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne B, General Manager at The Lansdowne Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi George,

Firstly, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review!

However, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t fully enjoy your experience with us due to your meals. Our rib-eye does not come with sides as it is as such a competitive price and therefore we allow you to add what sides you would like and how many you would like. I can only apologise if you did not feel that was made clear enough but despite this misunderstanding, I hope you still enjoyed your meal as our steaks are always a popular satisfying choice.

We have just launched our delicious new seasonal menu which on the 1st July with a lot of new and interesting dishes so we would love for you to come back and give us another try and hopefully we can make up for what you felt was lacking in the macaroni and cheesecake department - especially with a seat in our lovely sunny glasshouse!

Thanks,
Laura Haughey.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lansdowne Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Lansdowne Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing