We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”
Review of Stravaigin

Stravaigin
Ranked #117 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $39
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Stravaigin is old Scots for 'wander', a word that nicely encapsulates the restaurant's ethos. Both the menu and d��cor evolve; there's a wonderful creativity about this West End favourite. Locally-sourced ingredients are used to create imaginative international dishes such as Indonesian pork balls with vermicelli noodle jam jar salad. For something closer to home, try the haggis - recently voted the best in Scotland. The subtly dark, leather- wallpapered basement restaurant shares a menu and nautical theme with the less formal caf�� bar above. Service is informal yet informed. The staff know the menu and wines inside out and are adept at keeping cool under pressure, especially during the pre-theatre scrum. Exciting , affordable food without the foodie formalities.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a really nice lunch here. We both got the mussels and they were really some of the best I had for ages. Perfectly cooked and with a good sauce to it.

The place also have a wide selection of drinks, cocktails, wine and beers (even Tuborg!). The atmosphere is a little like boheme-light style.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    258
    100
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, delicious cocktails”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here the other day with my other half. We phoned up on the Saturday morning to try and make a booking but were told they're didn't have any tables until 9:30pm but that we could come to the bar and see if there is a table by chance as they do the same food there.
We decided to try it and by chance a nice couple offered us their table and they were just leaving.
We enjoyed the Southern Hemisphere white wine journey with our meal- I had the special which was a delicious goat dish and my other half had the bel haven beer battered fish and chips. Both were delicious! We finished of our meal with two amazing cocktails! So yummy! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicks2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Slow service, badly placed speakers, average food. We love the chip and had high hopes for this meal but it was an overpriced disappointing meal for all 4 of us. I am afraid we will not be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow food - great staff”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment we entered, the staff were attentive but unobtrusive. We had a drink in the bar while waiting on the table as we arrived early. Ordered fresh orange and were more than a little surprised to see the barman using a juicer to freshly squeeze oranges! NEVER had this before in a bar. Once downstairs in the restaurant, the staff proved very knowledgeable about the menu. Some of the choices were a little unusual, some were old favourites like haggis, neeps and tatties or Angus steak. Whilst deciding on what to order, the waitress brought us freshly made soda bread with a tomato houmous-style dip. It was like a taste explosion in your mouth and really made us keen to taste the rest of the food. We each ordered a different starter, different main course and different dessert. We had planned to let each other try what we had. None of us were disappointed. In fact the most spoken word during that whole meal was wow! However, none of us got to taste what the others had as the food was so good, none of us was willing to give any away. This was, without a shadow of a doubt, one of the best meals I have ever been served and I have had the pleasure of eating in some of the best restaurants in London. Dont be fooled by the slightly rustic, casual surroundings or the slightly out of the way west-end location - this is a real gem and well worth seeking out if you want a really special meal. For 3 courses for 3 people for dinner with coffee and 2 rounds of soft drinks, we paid around £120 - superb value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fido40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Friendly and Hardworking Staff”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I along with my son and his girlfriend enjoyed an excellent meal downstairs on Friday night, which started for me with amazing sweet potato and lentil soup. It was very busy and a little noisey. Probably due to the low ceiling height. However it did not detract from our enjoyment of the meal. The staff, who were run of their feet, were great. I would certainly recommend Stravaigin.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanStewart1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stravaigin also viewed

 

Been to Stravaigin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing