We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at Good price”
Review of The Griffin

The Griffin
Ranked #444 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Dunbartonshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Food at Good price”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked a table for 3 of us on Mon 1 Oct as we were going to see Susan Boyle, The Musical at the Kings. We have used this bar lots of times over the past two years when going to the Kings.
Good varied menu with lots of options for vegetarians, wine price very reasonable as are all the food prices. Old original bar type which is very busy.

First time we used The Griffen was when we got held up on the motorway and were late for our original restuarant booking so we went into the very busy and very full Griffen. The bar owner or manager, (not sure which but very nice efficient chap) soon found a table for us by asking one or two regulars to move about a bit. We were very impressed and went back every time we go to the Kings which is several times a year.
Would recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWOWILLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    100
    26
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
irvine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amaaaaazzz!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

went to the griffin before going to a show at the kings theatre, we had made a booking but were about 10 mins late, but the staff were more than accommodating to us! food was amazing! i'd recommend the cajun chicken! yum yum! i'll defo be back! great wee chilled out place & great staff!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christiane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Nosh for little Dosh”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Family use this Bar many times a year,We have a competition to see who can always finnish some of their dishes,Grand son usually wins.
Quirky comments on menu like a glasgow salad,If you want to know what that is ,visit the Griffin Bar,

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A dying breed”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

So good to know that there are still some pubs in Glasgow town centre which have retain some of the tradition and atmosphere which seemed to disappear when the big chains started their takeover. The Griffin is just that sort of place with great beers, nice staff and top-notch weekend entertainment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great slice of Glasgow life”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Griffin is an unasuming pub at the west end of Sauchiehall Street accross from the Kings theatre. The staff are very friendly & attentive but not overbearing. The menu has a wide choice and has an amusing twist to it. The food is tasty, hot and the portions are good. If you're lucky you'll get live entertainment too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin also viewed

 

Been to The Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing