We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb seafood”

Gamba Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $46
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: West Campbell Street
Transit: Buchanan St underground is a short walk. Queen St station and Glasgow Central station are both close by.
Description: The award-winning Gamba restaurant in Glasgow serves the best seafood available in its own unique style, and has established a formidable reputation for quality.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow. Great service. Excellent oysters. Wonderful wine. Definitely be back for more next time I'm in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anups D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    209
    45
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice environment near centre of Glasgow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fish and shellfish are the themes of course as gamba means prawn in Spanish. Very fresh, simple menu but with enough choice to suit most people. Delicate cooking, attentive service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_jay_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I visited Gamba with friends as i had heard of its excellent food, service and its overall relaxing atmosphere.....i was not disappointed. I am a massive seafood lover and all i can say is wow! Every course was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. In addition, the staff were polite and very prompt with their service. Excellent night overall!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Always Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Took friends from London. We had a wonderful time from the moment we opened the door. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The surroundings are good to look at and the atmosphere is that of a place where people are happy be there. The food was fresh and beautifully cooked, it tasted 'cared for'.
Could bore you with every little thing we had but would be much better if you tried it for yourself. Start with the fish soup! Then just work your way down menu!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lillyjones358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent, well nearly...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

For good food, service and value 'all in one' you can not fault Gamba.

We arrived early evening for the Pre-Theatre menu which was £18.00 inclusive of a glass of wine with two courses. Usually you expect such a menu to have limited choices (as it does) but also smaller portions and it does not, instead the meals are adequate and satisfying. Service is up to par although some of the 'pit oan' accents were rather Stanley Baxter but it gave us a chortle, be yourselves guys...

The food itself was very good with Modena Balsamic dressing the salad (option £4.50), my choice for the main course was Sole Thermidor which was unfortunately prepared with cheese which overpowered the flavours, this sauce traditionally is egg and mustard but no cheese although Gruyere crust is sometimes present. A style which has morphed over the years and not my personal preference, however still very flavoursome.

Some criticism 'yes' but look at the price and I will clearly state that we really enjoyed our meal, we will be back again and would absolutely recommend this establishment to friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamba Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gamba Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing