We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a quick drink on a nice day”

The Battlefield Rest
Ranked #164 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great for a quick drink on a nice day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped here for a drink on my way to another location. The restaurant was full at 7:00pm and the food smelled great. We took a seat on the small patio outside and enjoyed it in the evening sun (yes sun in Glasgow !). Great watching people passing. Did not stop for long or have food but for a quick drink - great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    147
    36
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Eat Here!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

my daughter and I were looking for somewhere to grab some food before a gig. We stumbled in to The Battlefield Rest, and were pleased we did!

The food is exquisite, I had mussels to start, while my daughter had bruschetta. The mussels were very tasty, and a very filling starter, while the bruschetta was crispy with plenty of mozzarella. We both had spaghetti for mains: a huge portion of beautifully cooked pasta and sauce.

Thoroughly recommend eating here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dspaperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistently good restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Having dined regularly in this restaurant since it opened I have never been disappointed with the food, good service and pleasant atmosphere. Always a joy to eat in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strathbung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had 2 visits over the weekend to this well established south side venue.

Fantastic tratorria style food,great service and good selection of house wine.

Specials menu was delightful, Ravioli with 7 hour slow cooked Ox cheek ragu, was truly wonderful.

Shall return soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of Glasgow's best restaurants.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I am a regular diner at the battlefield rest and after tonight's meal I felt compelled to write this review.

The battlefield rest has mastered the art of good food at good prices. The staff are friendly and attentive and the food is always amazing. The lunch and pre-theatre menus are excellent value for money, with no compromise on quality or portion size.

It is good to have a local restaurant which consistently provides such satisfaction.

Look out for the pavlova if it's available!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Battlefield Rest also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Battlefield Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing