We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've made better myself!”

The Battlefield Rest
Ranked #177 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I've made better myself!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I went to this place when it opened years ago. Loved it. Went back several years ago and it was terrible. Move on to the present day and I vow never to go back. We were crammed in like sardines, so when one member of the party went to the toilet the rest all had to move out. No bread, olives etc placed on table, Infact no bread full stop. Waiter said they didn't get a delivery (obviously too much hassle for them to go up to Morrisons?). I asked what side dish came with the fishckes (was told salad) they appeared with brussle sprouts, turnip and cabbage!! Others in the party asked for fries as a side dish, the waiter just answered no! We were advised the dish of the day was 4 cheese rigatoni, but we all received penne arabiata. Portions/Drinks/coffes etc, were of poor presentation, small glasses (big prices). Would never in a million years go back here or recommend to anyone. Final insult was a service charge.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lizgo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield R, Owner at The Battlefield Rest, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Are comments like those that make me wonder how easy is to critisise anonimously for points that could have easily been fixed at the time if i was aware of any problems. We do not offre bread and olives at the table unless someone ask for it , if the waiter said that the order had yet to arrive it was because of been closed for two day that our deliveries were late. As for the seating Battlefield is a small place therefore we try always to accomodate larger than usual numbers of guessed and we try our best to do so. As for fries we never had a deep fat friyer for the simple reason that been a listed building , it is an insurance request not to have one. Finally our tumbles have been with us since we open 18 years ago and the 95% of our customers love them. If you would like to contact me personally please do at any time.Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    147
    36
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, finger licking good.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went for Christmas Eve dinner. Menu choice was amazing as was the food. Fast service, hot food and very friendly staff.
Have been for lunches and dinners previously and it is CONSISTANTLY good. Yum yum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaygems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our first visit”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found the staff very welcoming and attentive , but also left you to enjoy your meal .
Food was of excellent quality, well prepared and presented .
Overall a very pleasant experience ,

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamish1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield R, Owner at The Battlefield Rest, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Your comment is very much appreciated, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very dissapointed”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

went for lunch with my sister and our friend,place is dark,dingy and uninviting.Staff were slow and not friendly.Menu(what menu) not much to choose from,food was cold,cutlery and glasses were dirty this used to be a lovely place to eat not now the place needs a complete overhaul x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield R, Owner at The Battlefield Rest, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customer . Our menu is one of the most extensive one you can find in the Southside. We have a full special deal page and a starter & main course menu plus a pasta & omelette of the day. Our Restaurant is probably a place with the most windows and light that you can find, our staff has always been known for their friendliness and speed.glasses are clean by a Winteralter glass wash at high temperature. Our food is always very hot and served with hot plates.We really take all comments very seriourly to maintain our good standards and quality.if at any point this customer would like to contact myself please feel free to call 01416366955 and ask for Marco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Victoriana relived.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I like the fact that the people of Battlefield had the willpower to fight off the developers who wanted to demolish this tiny piece of Victoriana,a true beauty.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheCraw706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Battlefield Rest also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Battlefield Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing