We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Gem!”

The Battlefield Rest
Ranked #186 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Italian Gem!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great value for money! Great portions good food and excellent staff! The pretheatre is ecellent value and the choice of wime is great! Staff are friendly too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michellin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    150
    36
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north west
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good local place to eat”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

If in the Shawlands area a gteat we local eatery .Good food at very reasonable prices good service and atmosphere .Need to book for evening later in the week. Very good for the price

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gair s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit - you won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Every time I visit this fine little eatery on the South Side of Glasgow, I wonder why I left it so long.

There is a very warm and friendly atmosphere with helpful and humorous staff.

I visited today (22.11.2012) for lunch with two friends. There was a great selection on the fixed price menu and the food was delicious. I can enthusiastically recommend the Minestrone soup served with crusty bread and the chicken and haggis in a white wine cream sauce. great value at £9.95.

Everyone in the party had different choices and everyone was impressed.

They are famous for their desserts but we didn't indulge this time, although in the past they have been wonderful.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic food, great value and amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner and myself thoroughly enjoyed the Italian experience at Battlefield Rest on Thursday evening. We arrived around seven and the restaurant was already jumping. We had no reservation but a lovely table for two was found without delay. The food is without doubt the best Italian that I have ever tasted. The menu was extensive, varied and different to the usual with something for every taste.
To complete the evening we were given discount vouchers for future meals although the prices are extremely reasonable. This is definitely on my list of new favorite restaurants and we'll be back before Christmas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First time, definitely won't be the last!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Been in a couple of times for coffee and scone but first time for a meal. We had the £6 lunch deal and what great value. Lovely spaghetti with mussels in a tomato sauce and my husband enjoyed the primavera along with a lovely glass of house wine. We shared the lemon cheesecake with chocolate, amazing! And cappuccinos to finish! All for £20.00. Excellent! Service was very good.
Will definitely be returning as so many great sounding dishes to try. Was so glad I had booked as was full to capacity. That is evidence of how good it is.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Battlefield Rest also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Battlefield Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing