We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newton Hotel
Ranked #85 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My room was small and dark (I was in the basement) and I had to ask reception for a kettle. But the room was clean. Choice at breakfast was limited. And I would have preferred proper coffee (they have one of those machines which seem to be increasing popular in hotels these days). The hotel is in a good, reasonably central, location though and is very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    104
    99
    34
    28
See reviews for
21
135
52
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at this small hotel, about 15 minutes walk from Glasgow Central train station. The weather was atrocious but the hotel was warm and cosy. I requested a quiet room as I'd read that some of the rooms on the front were rather noisy. Room 10 was downstairs from reception. The single room was small but spotless. The shower was brilliant and I had three very comfortable nights. Disappointing selection at breakfast but the hotel staff were efficient and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights mid December. Lovely little hotel and only minutes from Sauchiehall Street and the City Centre an easy walk. Had a room right next to reception which was not the best as you could hear all the noise from people coming and going but apart from that the stay was fantastic, room was clean and tidy and breakfast was good. Definitely recommend for a short stay in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the a Newton hotel one night after a show at the Kings Theatre, the two rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the showers in the rooms were great the only down side the lighting in the rooms could have been better. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight after seeing a show in the Kings theatre. Very pleasant and comfortable hotel, found the staff very friendly and helpful and very central for all the bars and shops! Room wasn't huge but sufficient and clean. Shower was terrific and plenty of choice for breakfast. All in all was great value for money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at newton hotel for 1 night. Fantastic central location. Rooms very cosy. Bathrooms nice and modern with power showers. Room no.5 ...ok so the view isnt great but who goes to a hotel to sit in a room and stare out the window. Could not fault it one bit. Some people just love to moan. And the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definately stay here again. Breakfast was good except for the turkey rashers but u dont need to have these. Plenty cereal fresh fruit, juices, coffee. So do not listen to the bad reviews the newton hotel is a fantastic place to stay. X

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindamcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed at this establishment over one night with my partner when going to the Depeche Mode concert. We were greeted (actually ignored) by a surly receptionist who thought it more important to finish watching his YouTube clip than check us in. His repeated demands for ID were also a little over the top, I thought. The room we were initially shown to had a charming outlook over some waste ground - the usual Glasgow scene of broken bottles and fluttering crisp bags - and an unpleasant smell of raw sewage. We were, thankfully, shown to another room on the other side of the building (the surly receptionist had made a mistake). The bed was surprisingly uncomfortable, the room achingly hot and the shower plug blocked.

A restless nights sleep was followed by a breakfast of such poor quality food that I could not eat it (turkey rashers - really?); the hotel service ethic extending to the 'restaurant' staff.

I was going to say that for £50 a night you can't really complain but I have stayed in many other places for much less money and had a hugely better experience. Just feels like they are taking the piss!

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side are below ground level and are noisy - rooms on the other side come with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 95 in Glasgow
546 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
1,798 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#11 of 95 in Glasgow
329 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Property: Newton Hotel
Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing