We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newton Hotel
Ranked #83 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only decided to go to Glasgow two days before our stay as there was a show on we wanted to watch. Booked this online after a few emails to check availability and car parking. Whilst awaiting the reply overnight the price increased by £5 although as this was a cheap hotel it was still a better price than most of the others I had found. On arrival there had been a mix up with our booking but the guy on the front desk sorted it without any problems and due to the location of our room to our case of my husband to take it to our room by a shortcut. The windows in our room were old and not double glazed there was quite a big draft from them. During the night there was a lot of noise outside from late night revellers and due to the poor window quality this disturbed our sleep (although the nose is not the fault of the hotel of course).The curtains were too small for this window so that did not help with the noise or the draught. The breakfast the following morning was nice and of a good size. Overall a good place to stay and a very reasonable price although the hotel could do with a bit of a spruce up as it looked a little tired in places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    104
    97
    33
    27
See reviews for
21
134
50
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Check in at the hotel was quick and easy. I had room 19 which was away from reception and was quiet. The room was a decent size with good en suite facilites. They provided toiletaries too which was nice. Bed was comfy, room was nice and warm. You can access the hotel 24/7 which was good. TV had freeview channels, and worked fine. Only downside was the cooked breakfasts started at 8am on a Saturday which was no good for me as I had a train to catch. I had cereal and juice and coffee though, and the lovely waitress made me some toast. I didnt like the sound of turkey rashers on the menu mind rather than bacon!! All in all not bad for £40, and it is only a five minute or so walk from central railway station.

Room Tip: Room 19 was a quiet single en suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefinnsDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I had hesitations upon reading reviews, but the hotel was the closest to where I needed to be and it included a full cooked breakfast. Value for money couldn't have been better; I had fantastic service and could use the ironing facilities, good wifi, fantastic en-suite, hot beverages within the room and a comfy nights sleep. My only complaint would be that the carpet could have been better hoovered.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJPMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Awful:
No working lock on the door to our room so I had to pile bags and a chair in front for a tiny sense of security. The lock on the bathroom door was broken too.
Curtains that hang on a broken rail and don't fully cover a ground-floor, street facing window - leaves passers-by free to look straight into the room.
Strong, awful stench from the bathroom; possibly all the mould in the shower (which is either freezing or boiling, no reasonable in-between) or a drain blockage.
Broken lights and a wardrobe levelled out by wedges of wood or cardboard stuffed underneath.

Definitely avoid!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the newton hotel last night 12/1/13 It was an excellent well presented and friendlt staff, we paid 39.00 for double room with breakfast, which was also very good. The rooms were obviously cleaned to a high standard as it was spotless. Would be returning again and advising other people to book...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stopped at this Hotel in December for a week.
The rooms are very clean and warm and the staff are very friendly.This hotel is in a prime position for the city centre without paying city prices.
You get free parking after 6.00pm until 8.00am in the morning, but it is street parking.
Only bad point is if you get a room behind reception it can get very noisy,but if you ask and there are spare rooms they will move you.They also serve a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't have a room near the reception desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dph1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed with two other friends in a triple room for £65 including breakfast on New Years eve so great value budget accomodation.

There are only minor issues such as no lock on our bathroom(we were two guys and one girl) which is a basic. There was alot of noise which can't be helped and is part of the location in any city centre but the curtains weren't great for keeping the light out which didn't help. The Matress wasn't the best quality. If I stay somewhere like that I expect somewhere to wash and sleep so I think some new Matresses should be invested in along with Blackout Blinds/Curtains and locks on Bathrooms. Strong smell of smoke when we entered the room. Appeared clean but something like that is what you remember, regardless of how spotless it looks.

The staff were great, arranging wake up calls, taxi's and advice while always being polite and friendly.Great having a power shower, better than my shower at home. Great Location for a night out or people who just want somewhere to stay overnight. Does what it says on the tin though and doesn't really pretend to be something else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJude490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#45 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Property: Newton Hotel
Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing