We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good budget hotel”
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newton Hotel
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good budget hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have looked at this hotel a few times when booking rooms in the past, but never tried it. It seems to get mixed reviews, but here is my take on it. My wife and I were out for a late evening in nearby Sauchiehall Street and so we needed a crash pad. The hotel is down Bath Street (right next door to the Shanghai Shuffle Chinese Karaoke Restaurant), is handy for lots of pubs, restaurants, very close to the Kings theatre and just one street away from the action on Sauchiehall Street.

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly guy on reception, who knew who we where without me even saying (must have been a quiet day for check-ins). Free Wi-Fi was also offered, although I didn’t use this. Anyway, we got a room at the back of the hotel (room 20), which he said was quieter at night. The layout of this hotel is very strange, since to get to your room from reception, you go down stairs, through the dining area and then up stairs the other side. I guess it could be a bit confusing if you’ve had one too many Sherries! Another thing that may be a problem is that the outer door of the hotel is locked and you don’t get a key, so that you rely on reception staff always being present to let you in. This was never an issue for us, since staff where always there, but I guess it could be occasionally (they must have to go to the toilet?!?).

Our room was clean, of a reasonable size and better than a lot of other budget hotels we have been in. None of the rooms in this hotel have baths, but all are en-suite with a power shower. The fittings in the bathroom looked pretty new and quite trendy, but some small omissions let it down, such as no where to put your toiletries (no table or shelf) and toothbrushes in our room. The bed was comfortable but overall the lighting (ceiling down lighters and a couple of angle poise lamps at each side of the bed) in the bedroom wasn’t great. On the positives the room had a kettle and complementary tea/coffee, a TV with a DVD built in.

It was a fairly warm night so we opened the window, which are modern UPVC types. The view from the window isn’t great (being at the back), with the land outside unloved with weeds and rubbish and the across was the back of Kama Sutra restaurant. We did have to close the window during the night, since it got a bit noisy (seemed to be a group of guys talking and bottles being dumped), however shutting the window did a good job of bringing back the peace. Overall we slept pretty well.

In the morning, breakfast in the dining area had 4 types of Kellogg’s breakfast cereals out, some fruit, Muesli, along with yogurt and fruit juice (apple and orange) and a tea coffee machine. A girl came out shortly after I arrived and she asked if I’d like anything from the breakfast menu. I went for the “Full Cooked Breakfast” and toast, which the only strange item on the menu is Turkey Rashers rather than real bacon. Anyway it arrived very fast and it was all very nice including the Turkey Rashers.

Checkout was painless and in fact any dealing with the hotel staff where pleasant. Overall it’s more like staying in a good B&B than a hotel, but this isn’t really a negative, because it was clean and we had nothing but positive dealings with the staff and we would use again when looking for a budget priced hotel in Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blongs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    104
    97
    33
    27
See reviews for
21
134
50
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at The Newton Hotel for 2 nights and we found the room to have everything we needed, it was clean, modern & pretty quite for a Thursday & Friday night stay. Staff are all helpful and friendly. There is free WiFi, it's close to alot of pubs, restaurants, bars & clubs & walking distance to main shopping strip. Don't be put off by the fact it's close to clubs etc because like I said it was surprisingly quite. Breakfast is really good, the have a selection of continental items and the cook hot food to order which was a really nice touch. Great value for money, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovegreatfoodandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Whilst the hotel was clean and in a good location, we didn't get a wink of sleep on the Saturday night because of the noise from around Sauchiehall Street. To cap it all, bins started to be filled with bottles from the restaurants and bars from about 4am onwards. We were shattered the next morning. Whatever you do, don't stay in a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

a 1 nite stay for pubs, clubs room was clean n comfortable just what we were looking for will stay here again in the next 6 weeks staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

great central hotel, staff friendly and helpful and good breakfast. Not crazy on the turkey bacon but perhaps the owners do not use pork so this would be the next best thing. Otherwise could not fault it and will be back. Comfortable clean room.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room --I did and got it.Rm 18 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99alexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

First time stay at the Newton which is really more of a B&B than a full blown hotel but you really couldn't ask for more at the price they charge. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, comfy beds, nice breakfast, low cost and great location means we will be back. Only 2 minutes walk to the King's Theatre and loads of pubs, restaurants and shops just as close.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Absolutely fine.
Bad points: Slightly ropey en-suite, obviously not fitted by a tradesman, but clean.
Good points: Lovely pub behind, lovely curry house behind, staff- friendly and helpful,near to town.
Was only informed about 5 quid parking charge once there, but in all fairness, we never asked beforehand.
Good place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beni81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#45 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Property: Newton Hotel
Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing