We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Glasgow
Post
Inbox
Search

“Birthday Lunch on a Saturday Afternoon”
Review of Ox and Finch

Ox and Finch
Ranked #14 of 2,971 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ox and Finch is a hugely-popular Kelvingrove restaurant that has added a new dimension to the quality dining arena in Glasgow with its relaxed, sharing concept of contemporary dining; simple, seasonal and ingredient-led menus which combine big, bold flavours with global influences; a great wine list and friendly, attentive service. Bib Gourmand - The Michelin Guide Great Britain & Ireland 2020. Chef Owner Jonathan MacDonald: Formerly the Head Chef of the McLaren Formula One team & Absolute Taste. Founder of scoop. Food category winner in Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Awards 2014. Chef Director Daniel Spurr: Worked at Glasgow's Rogano and Restaurant Martin Wishart at Loch Lomond. Head Chef Aurélien Mourez: Born and trained in France. Joined Ox and Finch in January 2015. General Manager Andy MacSween: Hotel and Hospitality Management graduate, with solid management experience of a number of well-respected Glasgow culinary 'names'.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We received a lovely warm welcome. Just beautiful customer service from knowledgeable, confident friendly staff. The sharing sized dishes not only looked really good they tasted fantastic. How the chefs manage to get such flavour into each and every dish is so impressive. A good and varied wine list, with the wine displayed in a huge rack in the restaurant. The restaurant was full when we arrived at 1pm and had a lovely positive vibe. Would absolutely recommend!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mairi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxAndFinch, Agency / Consultant at Ox and Finch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mairi,

It is great to read that you left with positive impressions of your lunch visit to Ox and Finch.
We hope to say "Hi" again.

Many thanks for both your visit and review,

The Team at Ox and Finch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us had a delicious meal here. So much choice, including a great selection for our vegetarian diner. The venison carpaccio was particularly good, also the hake in satay sauce and mackerel pate. We ordered a little more than was recommended but ate the lot and still had room for dessert. All of the dishes we chose were exceptionally well cooked. So many delicious flavours. It was our second visit here and we’ll definitely be back again. The staff were very friendly too. Highly recommended but be sure to book well in advance.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sakamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxAndFinch, Agency / Consultant at Ox and Finch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you very much for your compliments of the food and service experienced during your visit and awarding us with a Five Star TripAdvisor review. It will be great to welcome you back on your next visit.

Best wishes,

The Team at Ox and Finch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food and service at a very reasonable price. Will definitely be back! Everything we had was delicious and freshly made - couldn’t fault anything at all

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank norainnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxAndFinch, Owner at Ox and Finch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Nora,

We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your celebratoryt visit to Ox and Finch. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks for both your visit and review,

The Team at Ox and Finch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Warm and attentive service with smiles on the table. Interesting wines from cheap (for this sort of place) to mid-range - our £36 Lebanese red worked very well. I promised our waiter Mike a mention for his engaged, charming and helpful manner. He was clearly busy, but smiling and responsive. We'd just had hogmanay in an archetype highland hotel which was great, so this place was a breath of fresh air, with more of the bistro than formal restaurant. I was probably the oldest person there, overdressed in blazer and flannels, but the easy atmosphere means nobody notices or cares; there's a buzz of people enjoying being themselves. All the food we had was well done, with an imaginative flair and just a touch of the not-British.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank stubbersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxAndFinch, The Team at Ox and Finch, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Hi,

It is great to read that you left with positive impressions of your New Year visit to Ox and Finch. Hopefully we will say "Hi" on your next visit to the city.

Many thanks for your visit and review,

The Team at Ox and Finch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I have visited the Ox many times and it never fails to impress. Whether its worth the family or on a date it's always great.
The menu varies enough to keep you interested but the classics that you love are normally there, with a few seasonal ones thrown in for good measure. Having recently gone veggie, I was delighted to find they have a whole separate vegetarian and vegan menu as well as a good selection on the main menu

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank nostrangertodanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxAndFinch, The Team at Ox and Finch, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Hi,

We very much appreciate your support of our restaurant with your many visits and the kind compliments contained in your review. We look forward to continuing to extend a warm welcome to you both.

Best wishes,

The Team at Ox and Finch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox and Finch also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ox and Finch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing